| 1.1°C Dublin



UU JORDANSTOWN...........................................1

UCD claimed a place in the Colleges and Universities Premier League final for the third time in four seasons with a clear cut win over Northern kingpins University of Ulster Jordanstown at St Kevins Boys FC.

Gavin Falconer gave UCD the best possible start with a goal in the opening minute and although Jordanstown levelled on 42 minutes the Belfield side quickly regained the lead minutes later and went on to dominate after the interval hitting four more without reply.

Missing several regulars from that Limerick game due to Irish League commitments Shane McCullough's side were no match for a slick UCD outfit that has hit top form in the recent weeks.

Falconer hit home UCD's opener in the first minute with a smart finish past Jordanstown's former Belfield goalkeeper Arthur Delahunt after McMahon had his drive from the edge of the box blocked by defender Brendan Shannon.

Jordanstown got back on terms minutes before the break. Mark Kelly set up the goal with a deep cross from the right and Stephen Doyle wasted no time in hammering it past Barron.

But UCD responded quickly and on the stroke of half time were back in front when centre back Mick Kelly headed home McMahon's corner.

The second half belonged to the Belfield side as they powered their way to yet another Premier League Final.

Dave McMillen stretched their lead minutes into the half with a close range effort. Then just on the hour Mark Creevy's delightful through ball gave Sean Houston the chance to round Delahunt and roll the ball into an empty for the fourth goal.

Creevy then hit the bar and McMillen shot over before a Falconer header his second of the day on 75 minutes to make it 5-1.While near the end McMillen also claimed his second goal steering home a Fran Moran free past Delahunt for a comfortable win.

UCD: Ger Barron, Gareth Mathews, Daniel Lehane, David O'Connor, Mick Leahy, James Timmons, Peter McMahon, Robbie Creevy, Gavin Falconer, David McMillen, Sean Houston. Subs: Danny Fallon (for McMahon 75), Fran Moran (for Creevy 75), Barry McCabe (for Timmons 85), Cormac O'Brolochain, Samir Belhout, Tyrone McNelis, Mark McGinley.

UU JORDANSTOWN: Arthur Delahunt, Brendan Shannon, Sam McWilliams, James Doherty, Adam Lecky, Stewart Hutchinson, Grant Hutchinson, Johnny McClury, Mark Kelly, Stephen Doyle, Nathan Khan. Subs: Carl Hogg (for S Hutchinson 2), Matt Quinn, Taylor Kirk. Referee: Dave Fisher (Dublin).

DIT............................2; ATHLONE IT.................0

DIT made it through to their first Premier League Final after two penalties from Eoin Kavanagh was enough to get them past Athlone IT in the other semi-final at Whitehall. Michael O'Connor had done great work in getting his Athlone charges to the last four of this competition in an impressive unbeaten league run but on the day they failed to reach the heights of their previous performances and never really tested the DIT boys.

Eoin Kavanagh gave Athlone 'keeper TJ Forde little chance with his well placed spot kick on 10 minutes after a Richie O'Farrell cross looked to have struck full back Mick Kelly on the arm.

But Athlone were unable to stage any kind of a second half recovery with their free scoring forwards Brian Cauldwell, Liam Lynch and Carmine Russo all having an off day.

Another penalty, this time hotly disputed, then sealed the win for DIT on the hour mark when their Wayside Celtic winger O'Farrell appeared to be fouled in the box by Kelly and Kavanagh coolly beat Forde again with his spot kick.

Substitute Javi Morata did test Craig Hyland with a couple of late Athlone efforts but the day belonged to Tony O'Connor's boys who have finally succeeded in making it to a Premier League decider

DIT: Craig Hyland, Dean Zambra, Killian Gallagher, Conor McMahon, Sean Bonner, Craig McDonnell, Sean Fitzgerald, Michael O'Connor, Davy O'Sullivan, Richie O'Farrell, Eoin Kavanagh. Subs:Conor Costello (for Kavanagh 75), Conor Corcorane (for O'Farrell 80), Darren Soon (for Bonner 85), Taheeb Adigon, Mark Cahalan, Stephen Roche, Aiden McGrane.

ATHLONE IT: TJ Hoare, Craig Short, Michael Kenny, Neil Harney, Garvan Broughall, Stephen Relihan, Aruba Salaveen, Carmine Russo, Liam Lynch, Brian Cauldwell, Chris Greaney.Subs:Javi Ortega (for Kelly 60), Dean Clarke (for Salaveen 70), Jason Poole,Evan Ortega, Stephen O'Neill,Michael Farragher.

Referee: Fran Cunningham.