| 6.8°C Dublin

gorman's one man show

CLONASLEE UTD.......................1

WILLOW PARK B......................0

Clonaslee United emerged with all three points, despite a 10-man team, after an incident-filled CCFL Premier Division clash yesterday.

Despite being a man down for most of the game, and missing a penalty, the understrength homeside still managed to send Willow Park's second string home pointless.

Perhaps Willow hadn't their strongest team out either - the club's first team had a big 'old firm' with St Peter's after lunch - but nonetheless, they were disappointed not to get more from the game.

The performance of referee Adrian Martin was a big talking point and both sides had their criticisms of him, chiefly Clonaslee in the first half when Glen McEvoy got a straight red card. But the official brandished it for violent conduct and Clonaslee got the benefit of a different decision after the break when Pauric Hogan was awarded a penalty.

Before all that however, Conor Gorman had netted what turned out to be the game's only goal, shooting home after picking up a ball sent in from the left wing.

Seven minutes into the second half, Clonaslee had a great chance to double their lead when Hogan won the penalty and Thomas Tynan, a very effective first half substitute for the injured Michael McEvoy, stepped up to take it.

He struck it firmly to the left of 'keeper Lee Gaffey but the netminder showed up the talent, by diving brilliantly and pushing the ball away low with a strong left hand.

With seven minutes of normal time left, Willow's Gary Hogan scooped the ball over the bar from a matter of feet outside the line and Clonaslee were again saved when Conor Dunne cleared a goal-bound ball away.

In five minutes of added time Gaffey again had to rescue Willow, this time stopping PJ Fitzpatrick's effort as Clonaslee held out for victory.

CLONASLEE UTD: Seamus Rosney; Conor McEvoy, Pat O'Brien, Keith Hogan, Conor Dunne, Michael McEvoy, Glen McEvoy, Darren McEvoy, Pauric Hogan, Conor Gorman, John Rigney. Subs: Thomas Tynan for Michael McEvoy, PJ Fitzpatrick for Pauric Hogan.

WILLOW PARK B: Lee Gaffey; John Molloy, Mattie Shine, Tony Sullivan, Gerry McGowan, Brian Fogarty, Noel Francis, Noel Mulligan, Gary Hogan, Thomas Browne, Darren Nugent. Subs: Bobby Moroney for Mattie Shine, Paul Donovan for Darren Nugent.

Referee: Adrian Martin (Offaly Branch).