| -2.2°C Dublin

GAHAN goes extra mile


CORALSTOWN................1 (AET)

CORALSTOWN are firmly on course for CCFL Denis Delaney Cup glory after yesterday's dramatic extra-time victory over Ballybrittas in Tullamore.

League form counted for nothing in this semi-final at Leah Victoria Park as the Westmeath side, stuck towards the bottom of the Division Two table, got the better of their high-flying opponents from Laois.

A penalty shootout was looming after a scoreless 90 minutes was followed by one 10-minute period of extra-time but in the finish a solitary goal from Coralstown's Daniel Gahan settled the matter.

Gahan, a flying left winger for the club which previously won the Division Four Cup in the CCFL, took the ball down the flank, did well to get inside the otherwise impressive opposing full-back Ian Murphy, and then curled a fine shot to the net beyond Ballybrittas 'keeper and ex-Emo defender Eamon Strong.

Though they would admit they were not up to the standards they expected of themselves, Ballybrittas did have the ball in the net in the first half of normal time.

One of many dangerous corners from Brian O'Mahony was floated in and helped on by Darren Finlay before Seamus Wilson got on the end of it and drove it home.

However, Finlay was adjudged to have used his hand so no goal was awarded and the match wore on scorelessly, mainly thanks to the excellence of Coralstown's defence.

Winning manager John 'Ox' Moran said: "I thought we defended very well and passed it around very well."

BALLYBRITTAS: Eamon Strong; Ian Murphy, Enda Dunne, Paul McCormack, Paul Foley, Shane Mullins, Anton Ryan, Seamus Wilson, Darren Finlay, Stephen Wilson, Brian O'Mahony. Subs: John Greene, John Booth, Padraig Wilson, Padraig Dunne.

CORALSTOWN: Aidan Reilly; Tommy Kelly, Conan Reilly, Emmet Brennan, Kevin Reid, Alan Rickard, Daniel Gahan, Stephen McManus, Shane Donoghue, Joey Loran, Andy Devine. Sub: David Devine.