| -3°C Dublin

furlong plays skipper's role

Arklow Town A .......................1

Newtown Juniors................... 1

Danny Furlong's dramatic late equaliser saw Arklow claim the Heatons/Sportsworld WDSL U12 Premier Division league title.

Trailing 1-0 to league rivals Newtown at the Community College last Tuesday evening, the 'Town were awarded a free on the edge of the box after Dáire O'Conchubhair was felled with just five minutes remaining.

Up stepped Furlong to play a captain's role and smash the dead-ball to net.

Scoreless at half time, the visitors went ahead thanks to Sean Dease's clinical finish from close range with just 15 minutes left on the clock.

Had the Juniors held on for victory, they would have forced a play-off for the silverware.

Back in September 2009, the 'Town started the season in emphatic fashion, winning 10-1 at home against Wicklow Rovers A.

O'Conchubhair (3), Daniel O'Hare 2, Joshua Moody, Aaron Healy, Tomás Farrell, Patrick Dempsey and Furlong all scored at Brittas Park.

Their first away success followed a week later. O'Conchubhair netted four times against Greystones United A at the Woodlands. Healy (2), O'Hare (2) and Farrell completed the 9-0 victory.

A walk-over from their scheduled home clash with St. Anthony's followed at the start of October.

Then a crucial set of three points were secured away to Newtown.

O'Conchubhair opened the scoring in a 4-1 win at the Matt Kelly Memorial Grounds while Dempsey netted twice for Town with Shane Beevor rounded the tally.

Six more points were garnered from their proposed two meeting with St. Peter's Bhoys from Bray courtesy of walk-over's.

Arklow went goal mad in Kilcoole at the end of November. Both Moody and Farrell scored hat-trick as they proved too strong for St. Anthony's.

Healy (2), Daniel O'Hare (2), Liam Scales (2) and O'Conchubhair also scored in the 13-0 win.

Just before Christmas, O'Hare led the goal charge against Greystones at Brittas Park.

He netted three times in a 10-0 victory. Farrell (2), Healy, O'Conchubhair, Moody, Dempsey and Christopher O'Brien contributed to the double figures.

Remarkably their next league match was until April 2010.

On this occasion, the Black and White's left the Rocky Road with a 3-0 away success over Wicklow thanks to goals by Furlong, Mark Keenan and Healy.

The Town's record is played ten; won nine (including three walk-over's) and drawn once.

Incredibly from the seven matches they did play, the Black and White's scored 50 times, conceded just three and kept four clean sheets.

The full Arklow panel is made up of David Boddy, Joshua Moody, Patrick Dempsey, Leslie Sharpe, Dáire O'Conchubhair, Darren Furlong, Michael Kennedy, Christopher O'Brien, Aaron Healy, Darren Beevor, Shane Beevor, Tomás Farrell, Mark Keenan, William Horsman and Daniel O'Hare.

They are managers by both David Boddy and PJ Furlong.

* Arklow are still on course for the treble. But must overcome Newtown in both the Cup and Shield finals.