| 8.2°C Dublin

Four nominees for Tommy Earls WDL Player of the Year

TWENTY-FOUR players from 14 different clubs have been nominated for the ninth annual Tommy Earls Wicklow and District Football League Awards.

The winners of the eight prestigious prizes will be announced on Friday June 4th in the Royal Hotel, Bray.

Three top-flight players and another from Division 1 will battle it out for the overall Player of the Year.

Justin Kelly (St. Peter's Bhoys), Jason Fitzsimons (Newtown United) and Mark Mahon (Glenview FC) along with Johnny Arthur from St. Patrick's have been rated the top four contender for trhe 2009/10 season.

All four will have two bites of the cherry.

With Arthur up for the Pat O'Toole Division 1 accolade, the other three contenders will vie for the Andy McEvoy Premier Division prize.

Division 1 champions Enniskerry Youth Club and fellow promoted club Sugarloaf FC have each a player in contention for their section, with defenders Noel Skelly and Jason Moy in the trio selected.

Chasing a League and Thomas Scott Cup double, Avonmore FC's Eugene Dunne is up against title rivals Celtic Stars' Peter Ryan and Roundwood FC's Robbie Eyre for the Division 2 memento.

Having helped the Wicklow League League reach the final of the FAI Youth Inter-League Cup for the first time, Arklow Town U18 A's have three players selected in the Youths Category.

Irish College's cap Daniel Ledwith is one of the four nominees for the Young player of the Year category.

The Bridgewater Centre Park outfit also have two of the three nominees for the Under 18 group with both Irish Schools international Kelty and Dara Verney selected.

The club could also be in with a shout for the Under 17 honour as Daragh

Verney is up against the goal machines of Sean Cleary (Enniskerry SFC) and Shane Doyle (Rathnew AFC).

With promotion already in the bag, Rathnew's double chasing Division 3 and Charlie Byrne Cup side have striker John Sayer up for their ection while youngster Jody Merrigan is in with a shout for the Young player of the Year grouping.

Wicklow Town are also well represented. The Finlay Park have two players recommended in the shape of Thomas Duffy (Division 3) and Trevor Doyle (Youths).

Glenview FC's leading goalscorers for their Premier Division and Division 1 teams Paul Farrell is nominated in the Young player category along with Newtown United's Cathal McNicholas whose team are chasing a three-trophy haul.

A previous winner at Division 2 level, Carnew AFC striker Clinton Murphy is nominated in the Division 3 group.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Overall Player of the Year: Jason Fitzsimons (Newtown Utd), Mark Mahon (Glenview FC), Johnny Arthur (St. Patrick's), Justin Kelly (St. Peter's Bhoys),

Young Player of the Year: Cathal McNicholas (Newtown Utd), Jody Merrigan (Rathnew AFC), Daniel Ledwith (Arklow Town), Paul Farrell (Glenview FC).

Andy McEvoy Premier Division: Mark Mahon (Glenview FC), Justin Kelly (St. Peter's Bhoys), Jason Fitzsimons (Newtown Utd).

Pat O'Toole 1 Division 1: Johnny Arthur (St. Patrick's), Jason Moy (Sugarloaf FC), Noel Skelly (Enniskerry Youth Club).

Division 2: Robbie Eyre (Roundwood AFC), Eugene Dunne (Avonmore FC), Peter Ryan (Celtic Stars).

Division 3: John Sayer (Rathnew AFC), Clinton Murphy (Carnew AFC), Thomas Duffy (Wicklow Town).

Youth League (U18): Dara Verney (Arklow Town), Trevor Doyle (Wicklow Town), Jack Tim Murphy (Arklow Town).

U17 Division: Sean Cleary (Enniskerry SFC), Daragh O'Leary (Arklow Town), Shane Doyle (Rathnew AFC).

The Wicklow League Executive Committee are due to announce the three nominees for the Manager of the Year accolade shortly.

They will also be disclosing the three clubs from the six Division's will the best disciplinary records for the Fair Play Awards.

FAI CEO John Delaney and FAI President David Blood are expected to attend, when the Hall of Fame Person of the Year, Special Achievement award, Merit Award and Services to Soccer will also be presented.