| 9.1°C Dublin

Devlin's double delight!

Sugarloaf FC ...........................0

Wolfe Tone Celtic.....................2

A two-goal salvo by Adam Devlin sent Wolfe Tone through to the last eight of the Wicklow Cup.

The striker struck at either end of the third round clash at the Temple Sportsfield yesterday in Bray as 'Celtic came out on top in the local derby of the two clubs who share the same ground.

With the Cup a welcome attraction for 'Celtic as they try to avoid the drop from the Andy McEvoy Premier Division, it means the 'Loaf can now concentrate and try to secure a top-flight place as they currently ride high in second place of the Pat O'Toole Division 1.

The opening scored arrived in the tenth minute via route one. From goalkeeper Jamie Lowe's long clearance, Cormac Doyle and Kieran Conway linked well.

And Devlin arrived to power a stunning 20-yard shot that flew into the top corner of the net.

The win was sealed in the 84th minute. Kris Farrell swung over a deep corner from the left wing right footed.

Doyle nodded back at the far post and Devlin got in front of his

marker to guide the ball over the line from four-yards.

Sugarloaf should have been on level terms in the 66th minute. Emmet Lawless' long throw from the right flank was flicked on. The ball fell to Eoin McMahon whose reflex volley was well parried by Lowe.

It appeared the forward was about to tap in the rebound but former Shamrock Rovers and Bray Wanderers ace Robbie Manley made a vital block tackle.

From the resultant corner that followed, Lawless' delivery went all the way across to substitute Justin Melia. But he glanced a free header wide from six-yards.

The 'Loaf's luck was summed up in the 90th minute. Barry Brennan's free was put back into the danger area by Lawless. It fell to the unmarked Stephan Carroll.

But from ten-yards out and the goal at his mercy, the subs fired wide of the target.

Sugarloaf FC: Colum Tinsley; Ciaran Dunne, Barry Brennan, Jason Moy, Shane Dunne; Emmett Lawless, Jonathan Percy, Tony Kiernan, Jake Bowen; Eoin McMahon, Shane Tobin. Subs: Justin Melia (for Shane Dunne 60 mins), Derek Scanlon (for Ciaran Dunne 77 mins), Stephen Carroll (for Tobin 82 mins), Niall Byrne, Mark Doyle (both not used).

Wolfe Tone Celtic: Jamie Lowe; David Greene, Jack Martin, Darren Neiland, David Carroll; Robbie Manley, Kris Farrell, Cormac Doyle, Fergie Martin; Adam Devlin, Kieran Conway. Subs: Conor Whelan (for Fergie Martin 67 mins), Ian Carroll, Damien

Brown, Philip Neiland (all not used).

Referee: David Jameson.