| 9°C Dublin

deadly dylan the willows winner!

Cambridge Boys...........................1

Willows FC..................................2

THANK goodness for the Ringsend all-weather. Most of the Dublin pitches were left whistling in the wind over the weekend.

But the sun shone in Raytown on Saturday and a decent crowd turned up to watch the 14A1 table-topper.

It was a tremendous tussle. Dylan O'Brien's goal nicked the points with twenty minutes left.

It gives the Willows the advantage in the chase for gold, but they know there's still plenty of fences left to jump.

"The return match in Poppintree should be some game. Our back four were excellent today," summed up Paul Mahon, managing Willows with Billy Riggs and Paul Finnegan.

The Willows centre-half and captain, Adam Johnson, led by example as Cambridge turned on the tap in the search for a late equaliser.

At the hub of things for the hosts was Josh Bannable, a brilliant worker at midfield, while the delightful wing play of Ryan Plunkett won the applause of all.

One charming run in the second half saw Ryan skip over four tackles. It was a throw back to Giggsy in his prime.

The commitment of Jordan Maher also attracted praise. Jordan gives it everything. He took a knock in the first half and Cambridge missed his presence after the break.

Willows have an impressive CV. They are unbeaten this term. Last season they won the League, losing just one match.

It was looking for a long stretch that they'd have to settle for a point here. It was always tight and Cambridge would have deserved something for their efforts.

It was 1-1 at the break, Paul Mooney on target for Cambridge and an Alex Dee free-kick doing the business for the visitors.

It was another free-kick that granted Willows the prize. Luke Smith clipped it over from wide on the right.

It landed right in the middle of the traffic in the penalty box where O'Brien got the final touch.

Cambridge Boys: Conor Kavanagh; Sean O'Connor, Ryan Byrne, Ross Gaffney, Ciaran Stafford, Jordan Maher, Josh Bannable, Ryan Plunkett, Ian O'Brien, Paul Mooney, Ogaga Nwagiriga, Prosper Nwafor, Dylan Bolger.

Willows FC: Damien Murray; Gary Whelan, John Ryan, Mark Downey, Adam Johnson, Owen Bermingham, Luke Smith, Alex Dee, Chris Gorgaley, Jamie Kenneally, Sean Reid. Dylan O'Brien, Stephen Finnegan, Evan Mahon, Jonathan Harte, Neil McGrane, Dylan Collins, Niall Callery. Referee: Ronan Kelly