| 10.1°C Dublin

Broughan's Babes look to Kennedy

THE 20 PLAYERS who will represent the Heatons/Sportsworld WDSL at the 2010 Under 13 SFAI Kennedy Cup was announced this week.

Just before Christmas last year, a provisional panel of 18 players was selected for training.

That was partly due to size constraints at their selected venue of Rathnew AFC's indoor facility at Shamrock Park, but two more players have been added to make up the party who will travel to Limerick in June.

The players are from four clubs. Wicklow Rovers have the largest contingent with eight.

Seven players have been selected from Arklow Town Juniors. Greystones United supply four with Roundwood AFC having one chosen.

"There was a number of difficult decisions. We tried to be as fair to everyone. Over the past few months, we have picked the players from various aspects including ability and team-work to their attitude in training and with the other players" explained WDSL Under 13 County team manager Paddy Broughan.

Along with former League of Ireland duo John Gerard McGettigan (Finn Harps) and Ger Mathhews (Bray Wanderers), WDSL Director of Football Performance Declan Bollard was involved in the selection process.

"We've seen some players who hadn't come to attention over the past few weeks. And made a couple of changes to the squad" Broughan stated.

Plans are now foot to map a schedule for the squad who will be seconds seeds after Wicklow's impressive 11th place finish in 2009.

"We all know the weather has been bad of late. So we hope with the co-operation of the WDSL Executive Committee and the Under 13 clubs, we would like to have all League, Cup and Shield competitions finished before we go" revealed Broughan.

"With all that in mind, we hope to have a couple of weekends free for the players to get together. We will still continue to train on Friday's. We'll have having different sessions with them. For instance, Bray Wanderers legend Kieran 'Tarzan' O'Brien will put the players through the paces for us."

He went on to emphasise the point of co-operation from all involved which led to the finial selection.

"The team's management would like to thanks all the players who were involved at various stages of the trials and training. To those we didn't make it this time, we would like to say they were a credit to their club's, teams and family. We will still to continue to monitor players as injuries or other things could pop up over the coming months."

The full WDSL Kennedy Cup squad is:

GOALKEEPERS: Tommy Dunne (Wicklow Rovers), Aaron Jackson (Arklow Town).

DEFENDERS: Fiachra O'hAnnĂ¡in (Arklow Town), Niall Donnelly (Wicklow Rovers), Paddy O'Donnell (Wicklow Rovers), Aaron O'Sullivan (Wicklow Rovers), Aaron O'Sullivan (Wicklow Rovers), Nathan Fagan (Wicklow Rovers), Cormac Murphy (Arklow Town), Stephen Downey (Greystones United).

MIDFIELDERS: Jordan Carr (Greystones United), Kyle Jordan (Arklow Town), Mark Miley (Roundwood FC), Dylan Doyle (Arklow Town), Sean O'Brien (Wicklow Rovers), Shaun Vickers (Wicklow Rovers).

FORWARDS: Eoin McCormick (Greystones United), Kaelim Broughan (Arklow Town), Ciaran McGettigan (Wicklow Rovers), Sean Hughes (Greystones United), Killian Doyle (Arklow Town).

The squad will be managed by Paddy Broughan, with his Assistants being John Gerard McGettigan and Ger Mathhews. Damien O'Brien has been appointed the squad's Liaison Officer.

The panel have been invited to take part in an eight-league competition on Good Friday (April 2) by the North Dublin Schoolboys/Girls Leagues (NDSL). After that, it is hoped the WDSL players will travel to the North West for a training camp and friendlies against opposition from both Donegal and Derry