| 6.1°C Dublin

arklow town's premier glory

THE LAST Heatons/Sportsworld WDSL Under 10 league title was finally secured last week as Arklow Town A edged out Greystones United A to lift the Premier Division silverware.

Trailing their rivals by two points before kick-off, Arklow overcame St. Anthony's A 3-1 at St. Anthony's Park in Kilcoole on Sunday March 21 to claim the trophy.

The visitors took an early lead through a clinical finish from Clive Keenan. With half time looming, they doubled their advantage when Niall Murphy fired to the net.

Keenan added a third after the interval with Luke Brophy pulling one back for the Saint's late on.

Their 'Town had started their season back in September 2009 in winning fashion.

Eoghan O'Neill (2) and Conor Smith were on target in a 3-1 away victory over Enniskerry A at Ballyman Road. That was followed by their first home success. Ryan O'Donovan, Keenan and O'Neill all bagged singles in a 3-0 triumph over St. Anthony's at the CBS

Arklow made it a maximum nine points at the start of October by seeing off Greystones 2-1 as Heffernan and Eoin Cullen were on the score-sheet at the Woodlands.

That soon because four straight wins as Ardmore Rovers A were seen off 2-1, with Smith and O'Neill on the mark at the CBS.

The reverse fixture was just a week later at the Ballywaltrim Recreational Park with the team's played out a 1-1 draw with Quentin O'Reilly the away club's marksman.

Arklow's first loss came just before Christmas when they went down 1-0 to Enniskerry at their new home venue of the Community College.

The start of the new year brought a home loss as the 'Town went down 1-0 to Greystones back in February at the Community College.

But Arklow bounced back just a week later to register a 4-0 away victory over St. Peter's Bhoys at the People's Park in Bray thanks to goals by O'Reilly, O'Donovan, Rory Heffernan and Murphy.

And they picked up three more points at the end of the month without kicking a ball.

That's because St Peter's did not contest the proposed fixture at the Community College.

It all meant the 'Town finished their league schedule with a record of played ten; won seven, drew once and lost twice.

Unbeaten in all five away fixture, they scored 18 goals, conceded seven and kept two clean sheets.

The full Arklow panel consists of: Clive Keenan, Aaron Roche, Nathan Wolohan, Conor Smith, Quentin O'Reilly, Craig Fox, Eoghan O'Neill, Rory Heffernan, Ryan O'Donovan, Niall Murphy, Eoin Cullen and Eoghan Kenny.

They are managed by Andrew O'Donovan and Kenneth O'Neill.