| 6.1°C Dublin

Aine's the ace for super Peamount

It was a case of third time lucky for Peamount United as an Aine O'Gorman hat trick powered them to their first ever national senior title as the DWSL side ousted Salthill Devon in an exciting FAI Women's Umbro Senior Cup at Tolka Park yesterday afternoon.

O'Gorman's hat trick along with a first half Ruth Comerford strike was enough to grind down a hard working Salthill as United bounced back from going behind on two occasions to net the biggest prize in Irish football in this their third final in five years.

The deadlock wasn't long it getting smashed as the Galway side went in front after only eleven minutes when Lucy Hannon crash home a stunning volley by Linda Meehan in the United.

United got back on level terms within two minutes when Ruth Comerford swept home from close range after good work by O'Gorman on the left flank.

Salthill wrestled the lead back after half an hour when Jenny Critchley curled home a sweet left footed effort from the edge of the area. United hit back within six minutes when O'Gorman levelled the game up for the second time as the United striker's cross took a deflection off Emer Flatley and ended up in the Salthill net.

O'Gorman was unlucky not to give her side the lead on two occasions in the closing minutes of the first half. First Tina Hughes blocked a goalbound shot from the United striker and moments later the Salthill netminder made another impressive stop from O'Gorman, stretching out a hand to keep out a powerful header.

Peamount finally nudged in front on 67 minutes when O'Gorman caught Hughes off her line and managed to nick the ball over the Salthill 'keeper from the edge of the area.

Once United went in front there was no looking back and with ten minutes left O'Gorman added the fourth and final goal when she raced clear of the Salthill defence and slipped the ball by the outrushing Hughes with impressive calmness.

PEAMOUNT: Linda Meehan; Nicola Sinnott, Stacey McGlone, Jennifer Murphy, Susan Byrne, Karina Kelly, Rachel Jenkins, Susan Hackett, Wendy McGlone, Aine O'Gorman, Ruth Comerford. SUBS: Sara Lawlor (for Kelly 65mins), Siobhan Fitzgerald, Katie Taylor, Louise Quinn, Emma Donohue, Claire Kinsella, Michelle Byrne.

SALTHILL: Tina Hughes; Deirdre Connell, Aine Hannon, Emer Flatley, Becky Walsh, Ruth Fahy, Jenny Critchley, Tessa Mullins, Kara Mullins, Lucy Hannon, Julie Anne Russell. SUBS: Rebecca McPhilbin (for T. Mullins 69mins), Annette Clarke (for Connell 75mins), Lauren Ashmore (for Critchley 88mins), Dora Gorman, Caroline Carter, Laoise O'Driscoll, Sara O'Connell.

Referee: Rhona Daly.