| 12.9°C Dublin

Holloway is installed as Lions chief


Ian Holloway. Picture credit: PA Wire.

Ian Holloway. Picture credit: PA Wire.

Ian Holloway. Picture credit: PA Wire.

IAN HOLLOWAY has been appointed Millwall manager, the club have confirmed on their Twitter feed.

The former Crystal Palace boss, who left Selhurst Park in October, has agreed a two-and-a-half year contract.

Holloway, 50, replaces Steve Lomas who was axed last month after winning just five out of 22 games.

The Lions are only one point and one place above the Championship relegation zone and crashed out of the FA Cup 4-1 at League Two Southend on Saturday.

A club statement read: "Millwall Football Club can confirm that terms have been agreed with Ian Holloway for him to become new manager following the departure of Steve Lomas on St Stephen's Day.

"Ollie is set to take up his new position this week and will be in charge of the team for the Championship fixture at Huddersfield Town on Saturday."

He previously took Blackpool to promotion in 2010 and has also managed Bristol Rovers, QPR, Plymouth and Leicester.



LIAM O'BRIEN has assembled a strong squad – including three league-winning players – ahead of a tournament for out-of-contract players in Norway later this week, writes AIDAN FITZMAURICE.

For the last five years, the players' union, PFAI, have sent a team to play in an indoor tournament held in Oslo, where players who are free agents get the chance to play in front of scouts and managers and former Ireland international O'Brien will take charge of the side this week.

Conor Powell, Glenn Cronin and Robert Bayly have all picked up Premier Division medals in their careers but they are all free agents since the end of last season and will hope to catch the eye in Norway.

Former Dundalk prospect Garreth Brady – brother of Ireland and Hull City star Robbie – is also on the flight to Oslo.

The Irish side play Finland and then either Norway or Sweden in Oslo on Thursday:

Gabriel Sava (Drogheda U), Peter Higgins, Gary Dunphy (Waterford U), Conor Powell (Shamrock R), Daire Doyle (Bray W), John Sullivan, Tiaran Mulvenna, Garreth Brady (Dundalk), Glenn Cronin (Shelbourne), Don Cowan (Stevenage Borough), Robert Bayly, Dean Kelly (Shelbourne), Mark Griffin (Derry C), Sean Russell (UCD), Daniel O'Reilly, Stefan McKevitt (unattached), Keith Quinn (Longford T).