| 5.2°C Dublin

Further woe for Schmidt

IRELAND coach Joe Schmidt has included Leinster's Dominic Ryan (pictured) as one of five non-capped players in a squad of 37 for the upcoming November Guinness series.

Another Ireland flanker Rhys Ruddock noted Ryan's impressive impact for Leinster this season, particularly against Munster in the PRO12 League and Wasps on Sunday.

"He's played pretty much every game this season, bar the Zebre game. It is a credit to him.

"He's not really put a foot wrong. He's had a great game every time he's gone out," said Ruddock.

"The weekend was possibly his best game. He put in another big shift.

"He was hunting down people to tackle off the base of the scrum and rucks and carrying ball hard".

Munster's Dave Foley and Connacht's Daragh Leader and New Zealanders Jared Payne and Nathan White complete the quintet, who will prepare at Carton House under the captaincy of Paul O'Connell.

The big omission is that of Ulster fly-half Paddy Jackson as Ian Keatley gains ground for his Munster exploits with Andrew Trimble and Luke Marshall joining the lengthy injury list with respective toe and knee injuries.

The squad contains a relatively even split between Leinster (13), Munster (11), Ulster (7), Connacht (5) and Johnny Sexton from Racing Metro.

IRELAND SQUAD (Autumn International) - Forwards (21): S Archer, R Ah You, R Best, J Cronin, S Cronin, R Diack, D Foley*, Chris Henry, J Heaslip, D Kilcoyne, M McCarthy, J McGrath, P O'Connell (capt), T O'Donnell, P O'Mahony, M Ross, R Ruddock, D Ryan*, R Strauss, D Toner, N White*

Backs (16): T Bowe, G D'Arcy, C Gilroy, R Henshaw, F Jones, R Kearney, I Keatley, D Leader*, I Madigan, K Marmion, C Murray, S Olding, J Payne*, E Reddan, J Sexton, S Zebo.

*Denotes uncapped player