| 12.3°C Dublin

Dubs Stars honoured at gala lunch

DUBLIN'S finest hurlers and footballers of 2011 were honoured today at the official presentation of the Evening Herald/Dublin Bus Dubs Stars at a gala lunch today at the Westin Hotel.

The Dublin All Stars awards honour the best club hurlers and footballers in the county in the year both codes brought silverware back to the capital.

In 2011, Sam Maguire finally returned to the capital after a 16 year absence and the hurlers upset the natural order by capturing the National Hurling League title while St Brigid's captured the county football final and Ballyboden made in a stunning five-in-a-row with their triumph in hurling.

Ballyboden scooped seven places on the Dub Stars starting XV including Shane Durkin and Malachy Travers, beaten finalists O'Tooles have four, St Brigid's have two recipients while Lucan Sarsfields and St Patricks of Palmerstown have one.

Football champions St Brigid's also scoop seven awards including the three Cahills Barry, Mark and cousin Matthew.

2010 Footballer of the Year Bernard Brogan is among the four St Oliver Plunketts/ Eoghan Ruadh players chosen.

Lucan Sarsfields have two representatives, while Parnells and Ballymun Kickhams each have one.

Both sides will then take on Dublin on New Year’s Day in a huge double-bill at Thomas Davis GAA club.

Murphy to remain in coach role

BRENDAN MURPHY won’t be manning the Meath goals next year – but he will be coaching the man who is.

The former Wimbledon FC netminder has confirmed the open secret of his retirement, bringing to an end his second stint as Meath’s first choice |keeper.

But he won’t be walking away from Seamus McEnaney’s camp, as he has agreed to take up a role as goalkeeping coach.

That means Murphy, 36, will be working with ‘comeback kid’ David Gallagher, who was capped by Ireland at International Rules level in 2008 and is now poised to take over between the posts.

Meath’s other keeper of recent vintage, Paddy O’Rourke, has since been handed an outfield role by McEnaney.