| 5.9°C Dublin

Doyle on target to help lucky Shiven stay top

Roscommon Town's great run in the Umbro FAI Junior Cup came to an end when they were undeservedly beaten 2-0 by this very good Listowel side.

Roscommon had the majority of play in the first half and with a little luck they would have been well ahead at the break.

However, in the second half Listowel scored twice to book a place in Round six.

Shiven Rovers continue to lead the Ruby Oil sponsored Premier Division of the Roscommon and District league following a hard-earned win over Moore United at Newbridge.

Shiven Rovers rode their luck for long periods and were not helped when reduced to 10 men for the closing stages of the game.

Michael Killalea made many fine saves to deny Moore a score before Michael Doyle headed a Shane Harkin free-kick to the Moore United net with 65 minutes played.


Umbro FAI Junior Cup Round 5: Listowel Celtic 2, Roscommon Town 0.

Ruby Oil Premier League: Shiven Rovers 1, Moore United 0; Kilkerrin United 2, Castlerea Celtic 1; Skyvalley Rovers 4, Cloonfad Utd 2; Dysart FC 2, Ballinasloe Town 3; Strokestown United 0, b Loughglynn United 2.

Athlone Nissan Division 1: Castlerea Celtic v Roscommon Town Postponed; Ahascragh United 5, St .Johns Athletic 2; Ballymoe F.C 2, Castlerea Celtic 1; Glen Celtic 2, Rahara Rovers 2.

Bear an Raille Division 2: Manor United 3, Dunmore Town 1; Cam Celtic 0, Lisnamult Celtic 3; Ballaghadereen F.C 2, C.B Trotters 1.

Roscommon Casey Ford Division 3: C.P Ajax 4, Ballinagare F.C 0; Skyvalley Rovers 4, Loughglynn United 0; St Johns Athletic 0, Cloonfad United 1.

Saturday 30 January (7.0)

Ruby Oil Premier League: Castlerea Celtic v Kilkerrin United Referee T.Cormican; Cloonfad United v Shiven Rovers Referee E.Deering.

Sunday 31 January (2.0 unless stated)

Connacht Junior Cup 4th Round: Athenry v Strokestown United Galway Officials; Sky valley v Boyle Celtic Referee D.Toland; Ballina v Ballinasloe Town Mayo Officials; Loughglynn United v Ballyheane Referee E.Deering.

Ruby Oil Premier : Dysart v Moore United Referee F Daly.

Athlone Nissan Division 1: Ballymoe F.C v Ericssons Athlone Referee J.Dermody; Castlerea Celtic v Moylough 79 F.C. Referee W.Stokes; Glen Celtic v Ahascragh United F.C Referee N.Parkes; Roscommon Town v Rahara Rovers Referee R.Stokes; St. Johns Athletic v Shiven Rovers Referee E.Collins.

Bear an Raille Division 2: Lisnamult Celtic v Manor United Referee T.Moloney; Ballaghaderreen v Cam Celtic Referee N.Larkin; Lough Harps v C.B Trotters Referee M.Nolan; Ballinasloe Town v Dunmore Town.

Roscommon Casey Ford Division 3: Cloonfad United v Loughglynn United Referee Referee S.O Brien; Ballinagare F.C. v St. Johns Athletic Referee M.Loftus; Skyvalley Rovers v C.P Ajax Referee Referee T.Grenham.