| 3.1°C Dublin

Demons' fine run continues

BASKETBALL: C&S UCC Demons continued their unbeaten run with an 87-62 win over Dublin Inter, surging six points clear in the Men's Premier League and leaving their opponents rooted to the bottom .

Elsewhere, Templeogue's run of form continued as they came through a tense contest with UL Eagles 65-62 at the National Basketball Arena. Mark Keenan's side are now 5-1 since their upturn and move to fourth in the Premier League Table. Travelodge Swords Thunder are up to second place having come from behind to beat Belfast Star 92-85 while the return of Preston Ross helped UCD Marian to a 75-65 win at BFG Neptune.

Meanwhile, the draw for the Men's National Cup Semi-Final was also completed yesterday. UCD Marian were drawn against UL Eagles while C&S UCC Demons will play the winners of a one-off quarter final between Templeogue and Travelodge Swords Thunder.

Hockey: Four Cole brothers played for Monkstown as their team blitzed Pembroke Wanderers in the Irish Hockey League (IHL).

The emphatic 5-1 win at Serpentine Avenue put the IHL title-holders well on the way to way to making the play-offs once again this season.

The result, courtesy of goals from Richard Sykes (2), Jazze Henry, Gareth Watkins and David Nolan, gave the victors revenge for their early exit from the Irish Senior Cup at the hands of Pembroke a month previously. David, Stephen and Lee Cole are all regulars in Graham Shaw's squad and they were joined on this occasion by younger brother Geoff.

MOTORSPORT: Fergil Gregory scored his second win of the season by getting the verdict on a tie-break in the GSMC O'Gorman Cup Sporting Trial at Brittas. After 12 sections, both he and Morgan Evans were level on 18 marks lost, with Gregory coming out the better by having stayed penalty free through six sections against his rival's four.

In a very close finish, two more drivers were within a single mark of victory, with John O'Reilly just shading Robin Taylor for third place, also on a tie-break. Meanwhile, Le Mann Driver Matt Griffin was announced as International Driver of the Year at the recent Dunlop Motorsport Ireland Awards. Johnny McMullan won the Dunlop Sexton Trophy and Dean Raftery won the prestigious Billy Coleman Award at the Awards Ceremony.