| 15.6°C Dublin

Cappoquin spring late drama at Aul

SHELBOURNE’S hopes of national glory came to a shuddering halt at the AUL Complex on Tuesday night as they fell to Cappoquin in a thrilling FAI Under 14 Girls quarter-final.

In a last eight game that was filled to the brim with goals, clear cut chances and some brave defending, it was the Waterford side that emerged on the right side of this seven goal extravaganza to book a place in the last four.

It looked as if it was going to be a long night for the visitors as the home side pushed in front after only seven minutes when Megan Lynch’s deep cross was deflected into her own net by the unlucky Nuala Londis. The loss of the early goal didn’t deter the visitors as they took a stranglehold on the game and they eventually regained parity when after 29 minutes Sinead Shanahan twisted and turned her way through the Shels defence before smashing home by Chloe Downes.

The game ebbed back the way of Shels and the hosts edged back in front after only five minutes of the second half when the lively winger, Isabel Finnegan, got in front of her marker and stabbed home from close range after latching onto Lynch’s pinpoint cross.

The Waterford side refused to lie down and were back level on 55 minutes when Lauren McGregan swept home from close range. Amazingly, the visitors went in front within 90 seconds when McGregan converted a penalty, drilling home the spot kick off the underside of the crossbar.

It was the home side’s turn to turn the game around and they did so in style when Alannah Kelly lashed home in a crowd area to force the game into extra time. In the dying seconds of the first half of extra time the Waterford team took the lead again. McGregan’s corner caused terror inside the Shels penalty area; the ball took a nick off both a defender and Elaine Looby before ending up in the back of the home net to send Cappoquin into the last four of the FAI Cup.

SHELBOURNE: Chloe Downes; Shauna Carraher, Laura Farrell, Francesca Murphy, Alannah Kelly, Chloe Flynn, Courtney Higgins, Jess Gargan, Megan Lynch, Tracy Bethel, Isabel Finnegan. SUBS: Chloe Kelly (for Farrell 15mins), Diana Farrell (for Flynn h/t), Alex Kavanagh (for Higgins h/t), Niamh Kavanagh (for Bethel 60mins), Amber McCann (for Carraher 85mins), Amy McSweeney.

CAPPAQUINN: Clodagh Glavin; Sarah Geoghegan, Nuala Londis, Jessica Glavin, Roisin Cahilane, Emily Power, Elaine Looby, Lauren McGregan, Aishling Power, Sinead O’Brien, Sinead Shanahan. SUBS: Liz Devine (for Geoghegan 45mins), Sarah Jane Smith (for Shanahan 80mins). Referee: Christy Beasley