| 11.7°C Dublin

Waterpolo: Leinster settle up the score

It was a day of mixed emotions for Leinster at the Schools Waterpolo Interprovincials in Trinity College Dublin last week as they claimed the Senior title with a resounding victory over Ulster, while their Northern counterparts beat them to the Junior title in a dramatic day.

After Kevin Healy and Sean McKenna's men suffered a 15-9 defeat in the Junior final, their Seniors needed to step up to the plate against a side featuring a number of players from the St Mary's All-Ireland-winning team.

But, led by skipper Mark Murphy of Blackrock College, Leinster frustrated a talented Ulster team and got off to the perfect start, racing into a four-goal lead.

Sean Kenna (St Aidan's) scored two of the early goals, while Sean Lawler (Blackrock College)and Brian Murphy (St Vincent's) also added their names to the scoresheet in the opening half.

Murphy and his namesake Mark added to the rout, making the score 6-0 at half-time.

By the end of the third quarter it was 9-2 as Kenna and Lawlor added to their personal tallies for the day and, while Ulster pulled two back, it was never going to be enough and Leinster finished them off with a number of superb goals in the final period.

Brendan Nolan of St Andrew's opened his account with a fine score followed by another score from skipper Murphy.


Mark Fitzgerald (Marian College) added another but the goal of the day came at the very end, with Jason Maguire (St Joseph's School for the Deaf, Cabra) finishing a tremendous drive to the hole after a pinpoint pass from Sean Kenna to end the game with a convincing 14-3 victory.

The earlier Junior match was a much tighter affair, with Leinster taking a 9-8 lead in the final quarter thanks to a sixth goal from Frankie Fazekas.

But, alas, this was their final score as Ulster notched up eight unanswered to give them a flattering scoreline but a deserved victory.

Leinster (Junior):

Stephen Murray (St Declan's Cabra), Frankie Fazekas (St Tiernan's Balally), John O'Dea (Celesian College Newbridge), Oran Murray (Belvedere College), Sean Young, Roy Maguire (St Josephs School for the Deaf, Cabra), Ciaran McCarthy (Clonkeen College), Lorcan Murphy (St Aidan's Whitehall), Ciaran Walsh (Gonzaga College), Conor Kelleghan (Coolmine Community School), Craig Farrelly, Imre Desco, Mark Liptak (Marian College), Kevin Healy (coach), Sean Kenna (coach).

Leinster (Senior):

Niall McVeigh, Mark Murphy (captain), Sean Lawlor (Blackrock College), Sean Kenna (St Aidan's Whitehall), Jason Maguire, Keith Blount (St Joseph's School for the Deaf, Cabra), Adam Carroll (Conleth's College), Brendan Nolan (St Andrew's College), Brian Murphy (St Vincent's Glasnevin), Fergus Crowe, Paddy Bannon (Gonzaga College), Josh Byrne (Templeogue College), Mark Fitzgerald (Marian College), Kevin Healy (Blackrock College, coach) Sean Kenna (St Vincent's Senior Team, coach).

Referees: Mr Stevie O'Brien (Drogheda) and Keith O'Conor (Guinness).

Leinster Organiser: Brian Fitzpatrick (St Joseph's School for Deaf Boys, Cabra).