| 15.5°C Dublin

Alex too strong for youthful King's Hos


Alexandra College

Alexandra College

Alexandra College

A penalty corner rebound in each half saw Alexandra College land the Claudia Tierney Cup title at Grange Road, denying a King’s Hospital side, playing in their first senior final since 2003, with a 2-0 victory last Friday.

In truth, the Milltown school were always in control with a wealth of Leinster representatives in their line-up against a less experienced KH side that featured players with three years left at this level.

Sophie Roopnarinesingh gave Alex the lead in the tenth minute when she snapped up a rebound after Freya McDermott’s initial shot was well parried by Jade Arundell.

Arundell had a fine first half, making excellent stops from Katherine Egan and Lucie Wolfe as Alex forced the play throughout. And it continued along that vain in the second half with Alex winning another seven set-pieces.

Orla Williams took one off the line brilliantly while Jess O’Leary – the semi-final heroine with a last-ditch goal – defended well throughout.

But the tie was eventually won seven minutes from time amid a scramble after two waves of attacks, Aleisha Barton getting the final touch.

It meant Alex got a reward for their decent showing in the Senior Premier league, just missing out on a semi-final place following a play-off series against Muckross Park.

Focus now switches to the Senior Cup where Alex have finally made it through to the quarter-finals having seen off St Columba’s on Monday after the tie was twice frozen out in the last fortnight.

St Gerard’s beat Muckross to keep their double dream alive with Deanna Kissane scoring the only goal. Senior One sides Newpark and Loreto on the Green also made the last eight.

Alexandra College: C Nugent, L McCollum, K Egan, S Roopnarinesingh, C Harrison, S Wickham, L O’Brien, M McAleese, L Wolfe, E Beatty, S Gleeson, F McDermott, A Barton, I Delamar, E Murphy, P Diepman, R Cullen

King’s Hospital: S Moore, S Edghill, C Pretorius, I Power, S Kavanagh, M Lawson-Whyte, J O’Leary, H Jendoubi, K Baker, K O’Malley, S Farrell, S Quaid, R Harris, O Williams, J Arundell