| 16.3°C Dublin

Gaelic Football: Middlemen charge Moyle through Confey challenge

Moyle Park College booked their place in the semi-finals of the Dublin Schools Junior Football "C" Championship thanks to a surge in the last 10 minutes that took them past a dogged Confey side.

The Clondalkin school got off to a dream start when Stephen Chapman struck for a goal directly from the throw-in, taking a long ball and scoring on the turn. But Confey overcame the initial blow to fight back to be level at half time thanks to strong work from their midfield duo of Eoin Farrelly and Cathal Jennings and a fine goal from substitute Andy Degg, after full-forward Ciaran Honan had fielded Farrelly's high ball to set him up.

They had to thank their brilliant goalkeeper Brian Spillane who took off a string of saves and double saves to keep the Moyle Park goal threat at bay before and after the interval.


The home side's excellent free-taker Daniel Gregg kept the scoreboard ticking over for them, and his silky run scythed through the defence only for Spillane to deny him with a reflex save before denying Brian Gregg, leaving Andy O'Brien to point.

Jennings levelled and Dagg blazed a goal chance over to edge Congey in front, but with the game in the balance it was Moyle Park who excelled in the final quarter.

They were made to work for it, but their excellent midfielder Wilson Muamba and half-back Sean Long drove them forward.

Alex Darbey drew them level with a good point before Daniel Gregg superbly pointed from a line ball to edge his side in front.

A well worked move saw half-backs Long and Martin McGuinness combine to set Joey Murphy up for a score, before Gareth Black made the gap three points.

Confey pushed for a goal, but keeper Darran Core denied Farrelly and having scrambled the ball away and survived a siege they broke upfield and won a free for Gregg to seal the win.

Scorers - Moyle Park College: Daniel Gregg 0-4, Stephen Chapman 1-0, Alex Darbey, Gareth Black, Shane Boland, Joey Murphy, Alan O'Brien 0-1 each.

Confey College: Andy Degg 1-1, Cathal Jennings 0-2, Eoin Farrelly, Ciaran Honan 0-1 each.

Moyle Park College: Darran Core; Gary Quinlivan, Shane Bowen, Shane Boland; Martin McGuinness, Liam Flood, Sean Long; Wilson Muamba, Gareth Black; Benit Tunga, Alex Darbey, Daniel Gregg; Stephen Chapman, Brian Gregg, Gareth Looney. Subs: Joey Murphy, Andy O'Brien, Sean Fitzpatrick.

Confey College: Brian Spillane; Robert McNamara, Conor Cafferty, Shane Quinn; Aidan Ryan, Philip Smith, Ruairi Lynch; Eoin Farrelly, Cathal Jennings; Mark Keeenan, Simon Ryan, Brian Byrne; Dylan Slattery, Ciaran Honan, Darren Moran. Subs: Andy Dagg, Conor Nugent, Stephen Deehan, Shane Kelly, Gavin O'Toole, Greg Herby, Luke Quinn, Anto Keyes.