| 6.5°C Dublin

Salesian seventh heaven

SALESIAN College marched into the quarter-finals of the Leinster Minor Boys Cup thanks to an emphatic 7-1 victory over Harstown Community School.

A n impresive four-goal first-half display in Celbridge on Monday sent the home side on their way to the most convincing of results in this last-16 tie.

Winners of both the First Year Cup and the prestigious Senior Cup in the past decade, Salesian have an impressive pedigree.

The current under-15s are now one step closer to adding their names to a long list of successful teams the schools has produced.

The home side demonstrated their intentions immediately from the start on Monday as Dylan Connolly headed home a Giles Fokka cross just three minutes in after Hartstown had failed to clear the danger from a home corner.


Harstown equalised in spectacular fashion on the 10-minute mark when Simon Whelan's effort from 25 yards flew over the head of Shane Masterson in goal and into the net, but Fitzharris restored the home side's lead five minutes later at the other end after Griffin played him in.

Aaron Perry made it three with a superb jinking run in off the left, finishing from an angle, before Masterson denied Whelan another reply for Hartstown with a save.

Griffin's low finish from the edge of the box made it 4-1 going in at the break and when Fitzharris grabbed his second from a Dara Archbold cross, immediately after the restart, it was game over.

Archbold was again the provider as Oscar Diyaya headed in number six and substitute Daniel Edunjobi rounded off the scoring after good work by Fitzharris.

Scorers - Salesian College: Dylan Connolly 3; Conor Fitzharris 15, 43; Aaron Perry 20; Tom Griffin 25; Oscar Diyaya 50; Daniel Edunjobi 51. Hartstown CS: Simon Whelan 9.

Salesian College: Shane Masterson; Shane Mortell, Dara Archbold (Mark McGivern 59), Oscar Diyaya, Sam O'Gorman, Aaron Hennessy, Dylan Connolly (capt), Gilles Foka (Daniel Edunjobi 52), Conor Fitzharris, Tom Griffin (Kevin Power 55), Aaron Perry (Cian Harding 47).

Not used: Cian McCloskey, Dylan Kenny.

Hartstown CS: Evan Murphy; Ryan Kestell, Rory McGuinness, Conor McMillan, Gary Johnson, Lee McEntee (AJ Kelly 56), Simon Whelan, Adam Russell, Joseph Offoma, Franck Haba, Adrian Mihutescu.

Not used: Beni Mihutescu, Ross Woods,Alex Choloniewski, Adis Velic, Atko Velic, Daragh O'Neill.