| 14.6°C Dublin

UCD edge 'Nure to win cup

UCD captain Shane Grannell lifted the Leinster Senior Cup when his team overcame Terenure College 23-18 last weekend in Donnybrook.

Terenure took the lead when Mark O'Neill put over a penalty in the 13th minute, but UCD immediately responded with a penalty of their won, kicked by James Thornton from 30 metres (3-3). Three minutes later, Terenure went ahead when Harry Moore was accredited with a try which O'Neill converted.

O'Neill put Terenure further ahead in the 30th minute when he scored a penalty. Terenure's dominance continued for the first 10 minutes of the second half, then the UCD boys switched on. First James Thornton kicked a penalty, and then on 54 minutes Andy Boyle was put through the middle and he touched down under the posts. Thornton converted to put UCD on level terms (13-13).

Jordon Coghlan came on in the centre and the 'Nure defence now had a new problem. On 65 minutes, UCD picked up a loose ball on half-way and quick hands from Luke McGrath and Jordan Coghlan found Barry Daly, who ducked and weaved his way under the sticks. Niall Earls added the extras (20-13).

UCD were to play out the remainder of the match with 14 players after a sin-binning.

However, it was UCD who scored next with five minutes remaining when 'Nure infringed and Earls extended the lead to 10 points (23-13). Never giving up, back came 'Nure and scored an intercept try in the corner which was unconverted (23-18). They then put everything into the last play of the match which ended with a knock-on offence ... tired limbs everywhere!

UCD: 15 Andy Boyle; 14 Sam Coghlan-Murray; 13 Alex Kelly; 12 Stephen Murphy; 11 Barry Daly; *10 James Thornton; 9 Jamie Glynn; 1 Rory Harrison; 2 Risteard Byrne; *3 Liam Hyland; *4 Shane Grannell (Capt); 5 Emmet MacMahon; 6 Dan Leavy; 7 Mark McGroarty; 8 Eoin Joyce. Replacements (all used): *16 Kieran Moloney; 17 Adam Clarkin; *18 Michael Cawley; 19 Luke McGrath; 20 Niall Earls; *21 Tom Fletcher; 22 Jordan Coghlan. *Denotes player also on UCD winning 2010/11 Leinster Senior Cup team.