| 6°C Dublin

Premier joy hard to beat for New Ross

When New Ross scrum-half John Brazil kicked the ball into touch deep in injury time, he brought to an end an enthralling U19 Leinster League Premier Division final which saw New Ross defeat local rivals Enniscorthy by the narrowest of margins in Kilkenny on Saturday last.

By defeating Enniscorthy 9-8, New Ross captured the title and, in the process, completed their Leinster campaign unbeaten to take the Sean Stratton Cup back to Southknock for the first time since 2004.

The tight scoreline did not reflect the quality and drama of the encounter, which had the large crowd on the edge of their seats right up to the final seconds.

Enniscorthy, always a threat out wide, moved the ball quickly as the New Ross defence met the challenge head on. The set piece was a crucial area, both packs keenly contested scrums and lineouts.

Mick McCoy, the honorary secretary of the Leinster Youth Committee, on presenting the trophy remarked that it was the best game of rugby he had seen at this age grade all season and paid compliments to both sides for a competitive and hard-fought contest played in the best spirit of the game.

Congratulations to coach Tony Brazil, Francis Coughlan and his squad for a fantastic season in Leinster League competition.

NEW ROSS SQUAD: Michael Furlong, Michael Gannon, Thomas Joyce, Fionn Healy-Magwa, David Crowdle (captain), Wally Walsh, John Brazil, Kieron Sutherland, John Sutton, Tadhg Furlong, Gavin O'Gara, Kieran Treacy, Foley Philips, Don Foley, Gary Madigan. REPLACEMENTS: Sean O'Gorman, Jack Bolger, Aaron Prendergast, Conor Dempsey, Eoin Barden, Michael Casey and Phillip Kehoe, Alex Coyne.