| 17.2°C Dublin

Lions dates in Australia announced

THE British and Irish Lions will play Test matches in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney when they tour Australia in 2013.

The Australian Rugby Union (ARU) today confirmed the schedule for the tour, which will be the representative team's first visit since their 2-1 series defeat to the Wallabies in 2001.

The Lions will play six tour matches in addition to the three Tests.

The first Test takes place at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on June 22. The tour concludes with the final Test at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on July 6.

British and Irish Lions 2013 tour of Australia

June 5: Lions v Western Force -- Perth; June 8: Lions v Queensland Reds -- Brisbane; June 12: Lions v Combined New South Wales-Queensland Country -- Newcastle; June 15: Lions v New South Wales Waratahs -- Sydney; June 18: Lions v ACT Brumbies -- Canberra; June 22: Lions v Australia -- Brisbane; June 25: Lions v Melbourne Rebels -- Melbourne; June 29: Lions v Australia -- Melbourne; July 6: Lions v Australia -- Sydney.