| 17.1°C Dublin

Kidney keeps in all of big names

DECLAN KIDNEY today announced a strong Ireland squad of 33 players for the summer tour to New Zealand and Australia.

The travelling party includes three uncapped players, with forwards Chris Henry and Dan Tuohy making the tour party as competition in the back row and second row respectively.

The other newcomer to international rugby is Fergus McFadden who, along with Tuohy, will be making their first senior tour for Ireland.

However, Kidney has opted to bring a strong squad and has resisted the temptation to rest the likes of Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, Rob Kearney, Paul O’Connell, Donncadh O’Callaghan and David Wallace, who are all included.

Ireland will begin the tour with a game against the Barbarians in Thomond Park on Friday June 4, before flying out for a meeting with New Zealand in New Plymouth on June 12.

The New Zealand Maoris team is the next opposition for Ireland in Rotorua on June 18 as part of the Maoris centenary celebrations.

The final game of the tour will see Ireland playing their Rugby World Cup Pool C opponents Australia in Brisbane on June 26.

IRELAND SQUAD (33): Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster), Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster), Tom Court (Malone/Ulster), Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht), Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/ Leinster), Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster), Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster), John Hayes (Bruff/Munster), Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster), Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster), Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster), Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster), Shane Jennings (St.Mary's College/Leinster), Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster), Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Kevin McLaughlin (St.Mary's College/Leinster), John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht), Geordan Murphy (Leicester), Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster), Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster), Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster), Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster), Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster), Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin/Munster), Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (St.Mary's College/Leinster), Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster), Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster), Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster), David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster), Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster).