| 10.6°C Dublin

Gala caps off Boyne's past Magnificent Seven glories

Boyne celebrated their first Provincial Towns Cup win in great style before last year came to an end thanks to a Gala Ball that had a very unique theme, The Magnificent Seven.

Whilst the club contested two PTC finals since its foundation in 1997, it was decided to honour the two previous incarnations of the club, Delvin and Drogheda, who had taken part in Towns Cup finals since 1962, when Delvin were the winners. Seven finals were contested in all: 1962, 1967, 1969, 1975, 1985, 2005 and 2009.

Each of the teams were represented at the function, and the captains made their individual grand entrances to a fanfare and took their place on the podium. The main guest of the evening, the trophy itself, was the last to make its appearance to a huge cheer, and it was carried into the function by the club's outgoing director of rugby, John Sheridan, who passed it over to the 1962 captain, Billy Reynolds.

It was then passed through the hands of each captain until it reached last year's winning skipper, Craig McGrath.

This started a wonderful evening's entertainment in The Bettystown Court Hotel and it was filled with nostalgia, with reminders of the past 47 years displayed on a big screen.

There was a special presentation made by club president Paul Carlos to long-serving club member Seamie Briscoe for his commitment and dedication to sport during the past 40 years.