| 8.5°C Dublin

DSLP remember with Conor's Cup

Word has it that three years after De La Salle RFC was founded (in 1965) the first game against De La Salle College took place.

Among many rumoured to have played that day were the club's Dr Mick Foley and the late Steve Harte.

The fixture has now become and annual one and how appropriate it was that De La Salle RFC & Palmerston FC merged in 1985.

This year marked the 44th anniversary of the first club v college game.

Since 2006, the winners of the fixture have received the Conor Martin Cup, in memory of the late De La Salle College pupil and DLSP player.

Conor sadly died of SADS in 2005 aged just 16. It's a testament to his popularity and the respect he was held in by his peers that many from his club and college team were in attendance this year.

Conor's proud mum, Monica, presented the Cup.

Last year, the DLSP U18 team (captained by Josh O'Rourke) won the fixture, with the college having won the preceding two games.


Also up for grabs in this match was the Tom O'Connor Cup, which is presented in memory of one of Palmerston's finest sons, the late Tom O'Connor, who was instrumental in setting up Leinster's first mini/youths section in Clonskeagh in 1975.

To further enhance the important links between college and club, youth section chairman Ciaran Daly and Brendan Cryan, games master at the college, have announced that two other trophies have been named after much-missed pupils and players.

The Murphy Ball Trophy, played for by first-year college pupils, is dedicated to the late Barry Murphy, a past pupil of the college who also played for and coached at DLSP.

Barry's son James is one of the most exciting backs in the Juniors at the moment. James, his mother, Anne, and the Murphy family were in attendance at a recent game.

And third-year pupils (U15) now play for a trophy in memory of the late Damien McCoy, also a former De La Salle pupil and club player.

The McCoy family were in attendance at this game on Wednesday night.