| 16°C Dublin

Deans angered by Aussie duo's 4am antics

Australia coach Robbie Deans was disappointed by the presence of Kurtley Beale and James O'Connor in a fast-food restaurant in the early hours of the morning, but did not consider dropping them.

The Melbourne Rebels duo were photographed at 3.50am in Hungry Jacks where they posed for pictures with supporters, but the Australian Rugby Union established they had not been drinking.

Beale, who has been selected at full-back for Saturday's second Test against the British and Irish Lions, has only recently returned to the Wallabies after undergoing treatment for alcohol-related problems.

While deciding not to discipline them, Deans (pictured) was unimpressed by the duo's poor judgement.

"That's not an ideal hour. We've had a conversation for sure. Suffice to say it wasn't a comfortable conversation," Deans said.

"They haven't broken any team protocols, but it's not best practice. Yes they will be prepared for this game."

O'Connor failed to impress in last weekend's 23-21 defeat by the tourists but has been given another chance with Beale coming in for the concussed Berrick Barnes.

Centres Adam Ashley-Cooper and Christian Leali'ifano start after shoulder and concussion problems, both sustained at the Suncorp Stadium.

The second and final change to the starting XV sees Joe Tomane, who has recovered from a toe problem, picked on the left wing to plug the gap left by Digby Ioane's series-ending shoulder injury.


K Beale (Melbourne Rebels); I Folau (NSW Waratahs), A Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs), C Leali'ifano (Brumbies), J Tomane (Brumbies); J O'Connor (Melbourne Rebels), W Genia (Queensland Reds); B Robinson (NSW Waratahs), S Moore (Brumbies), B Alexander (Brumbies), K Douglas (NSW Waratahs), J Horwill (Queensland Reds, capt), B Mowen (Brumbies), M Hooper (Brumbies), W Palu (NSW Waratahs).

Replacements: S Fainga'a (Queensland Reds), J Slipper (Queensland Reds), S Kepu (NSW Waratahs), R Simmons (Queensland Reds), L Gill (Queensland Reds), N Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), R Horne (NSW Waratahs), J Mogg (Brumbies).