| 13.8°C Dublin

Carbery makes Ireland cut as Madigan misses the plane


Leinster’s Joey Carber. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

Leinster’s Joey Carber. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

Leinster’s Joey Carber. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

Jonathan Sexton has given Joey Carbery his seal of approval ahead of Ireland's first November test against New Zealand in Chicago on Saturday week.

"Speaking about Joey, he has been brilliant since he's come in (to Leinster)," he said.

The in-form 20-year-old steps into the position usually reserved for Ian Madigan as tigh-heads Mike Ross and Marty Moore are others left out of the 34-man squad to fly out of Dublin on Monday.

"When 'Mads' left, it would have been very easy to try and get a foreigner in to fill that," he said.

"You can see his qualities, his running-game, especially," said Sexton.

"He's making a lot of line-breaks and to have someone come through like that is great."

Joe Schmidt has called-up the uncapped Leinster quartet Carbery, scrum-half Luke McGrath, centre Garry Ringrose and hooker James Tracy.


Munster tight-head John Ryan and second row Billy Holland complete the half-dozen men yet to don the green shirt.

"Selections were difficult as always; trying to balance form, fitness, experience, combinations plus assess those players returning from injury or those carrying minor knocks or strains," said Schmidt.

"There are also a number of players on standby who are likely to be involved during the first two weeks of the Guinness Series."

IRELAND (Squad v New Zealand, Chicago Test): F Bealham (Connacht), R Best (Ulster, Capt), J Carbery (Leinster)*, S Cronin (Leinster), U Dillane (Connacht), K Earls (Munster), T Furlong (Leinster), C Gilroy (Ulster), C Healy (Leinster), J Heaslip (Leinster), I Henderson (Ulster), R Henshaw (Leinster), B Holland (Munster)*, P Jackson (Ulster), R Kearney (Leinster), K Marmion (Connacht), L Marshall (Ulster), J McGrath (Leinster), L McGrath (Leinster)*, J Murphy (Leinster), C Murray (Munster), S O'Brien (Leinster), P O'Mahony (Munster), J Payne (Ulster), G Ringrose (Leinster)*, D Ryan (Munster), J Ryan (Munster)*, J Sexton (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), D Toner (Leinster), J Tracy (Leinster)*, A Trimble (Ulster), J van der Flier (Leinster), S Zebo (Munster).

*denotes uncapped player