| 12.3°C Dublin

weather can'T wilt mudlarks

Although milder conditions set in last weekend, Tymon Park in Tallaght was cold, with ice on the ponds and water lying on the football pitches.

With two cross-country races taking place, it was a busy weekend in the park. First up were the 29th South Dublin County Council races, deferred from the weekend before.

Although the going was heavy, Fiona Mahon (Primary Teachers) made light work of the women's two-mile race, coming home ahead of Kate O'Neill (Instant Comms) and Aoife Brady (Standard Life).

Mahon next runs for Ireland in Saturday's Antrim International. Mary Hanley, in fourth place, was first over 40. Best of the teams was Revenue.

With Tom Hogan from Wexford pressing on from the start of the men's race, with only BHAA chairman Paul O'Connell attempted to stay with him. The pair ended up first and second with Kieran Kelly third.

First over 45 in seventh place was Patrick Malone (Turf Club), closely followed by Tom McGrath, first over 40. Irish Prison Service, led by John Brennan, proved best of the teams.

A day later, a sunnier Tymon Park hosted the Dublin Master's Cross-Country organised by Rathfarnham WSAF.

Lucy Darcy of Sportsworld took off when the whistle went for the women's 7k and was never caught. Second was Raheny's Denise Ryan, with Helen White of Sportsworld third.

Orla Gormley of Raheny won the over-45 medal after a great battle with Civil Service's Grainne Butler.

Helen Ingram of Rathfarnham was first over 50 and Mags McCreary first over 55. Host club Rathfarnham won the team medals.

Pushing the pace from the start of the men's 7k was Raheny's Mick Traynor. For the first lap, DSD's Ian O'Leary attempted to keep him company, but was soon passed by Liffey Valley's Tom O'Connor and Paul Cowhie of Civil Service. This trio of over-45 athletes took the first three places with O'Leary fourth.

With Eddie McGrath and Gerry Daly fifth and sixth, Liffey Valley was first team. Also picking up winning medals for Valley were John Cullen (over 50) and Pat Collins (over 60). Other age group winners included DSD's John Healy in the over-50 class, Pat Bonass of Clonliffe over 65 and MSB's Tadhg Twomey over 70.