| 5.1°C Dublin

Waller hits milestone in Meath

Bohermeen Cycling Club in Co Meath will promote the 75th anniversary of the Waller Cup tomorrow with a start in the village.

The trophy was originally presented to the club in 1937 by local resident Vice Admiral Craig Waller in recognition of the achievements of the club members at the time.

Racing will start at 11am for underage and 1pm for all senior races. Sign on will be at Sean Newman Park.

The underage category is a welcome development.

It also comes as good news for six youngsters who are bound for sunnier climes in South Africa. Dillon Corkery, Eddie Dunbar, Dylan O'Brien and Jeremy Lawlor all from Kanturk CC, Joshua Francis from Longford CC and Cathal Clark from Newry Haladane CC will race in SA in the colours of Kanturk CC. But on Sunday, they'll be doing the business for their respective clubs.

It would not surprise me at all if they return with plenty of extra luggage in the form of prizes!