| 14.2°C Dublin

Tully triumphs on home turf

Rob Tully of Gormanston made it a home win in the senior boys' race at the Meath Secondary School cross-country, hosted by Gormanston in perfect autumn running conditions on a bone-dry course.

Tully beat old rival Andrew Coscoran of St Mary's Drogheda, with Jack McGowan of Boyne Community School in Trim third. On a good day for Gormanston, they also took the team honours. In the girls' senior race, Loreto Navan's Ciara Rooney came home ahead of Alison Daly from Scoil Mhuire Trim and Laura Farrell of Athboy CS, with St Peter's Dunboyne winning the team medals.

Niamh Galloghly of Dunshaughlin CS was the winner of the inter girls' 1,500m, beating Aisling O'Hare of Scoil Mhuire Trim and Rebecca Matthews of Greenhills. Eureka Kells packed well to win the team medals, with St Peter's Dunboyne second.

St Pat's Navan dominated the boys' inter race, with Brian McGrath first and Eoin Smyth second ensuring team victory ahead of Gormanston, led home by Martin Molloy in third.

St Pat's also took the junior boys' team award with Kevin McGrath the individual winner ahead of Peter Kilgannon and Philip Marron, both of Ratoath College. With Rose Finnegan and Eimear O'Neill finishing first and second in the junior girls' race, it was no surprise when Eureka Kells were declared the winners.

In the minor races, Sarah Clarke from Scoil Dara Kilcock was first of the girls and Paddy Maher from Dunshaughlin CS the best of the boys. Teams from 20 schools took part in eight races. Next up in the Meath area is the Dunboyne Schools' Cross-Country on December 5.


Girls -- Minor: 1. Sarah Clarke, Scoil Dara, Kilcock; 2. Nicola Duffy, St Peter's Dunboyne; 3. Eva O'Donovan, Loreto, Navan. Teams: 1 Dunshaughlin Comm School, 2 St Peter's Dunboyne, 3 Our Lady's Greenhills.

Junior: 1 Rose Finnegan, Eureka Kells; 2 Eimear O'Neill, Eureka Kells; 3 Aine O'Connor, Rathoath. Teams: 1 Eureka Kells, 2 Ratoath College, 3 Dunshaughlin Community School.

Inter: 1 Niamh Galloghly, Dunshaughlin Community School; 2 Aisling O'Hare, Scoil Mhuire, Trim; 3 Rebecca Matthews, Our Lady's Greenhills. Teams: 1 Eureka Kells, 2 St Peter's Dunboyne, 3 Our Lady's Greenhills.

Senior: 1 Ciara Rooney, Loreto Navan; 2 Alison Daly, Scoil Mhuire Trim; 3 Laura Farrell, Athboy Community School. Team: St Peter's Dunboyne.

Boys -- Minor: 1 Paddy Maher, Dunshaughlin CS; 2 Eanan Peppard, St Patrick's Navan;

3 David Hawes, St Patrick's Navan. Teams: 1 Dunshaughlin Community School, 2 St Patrick's Navan, 3 St Joseph's Drogheda.

Junior: 1 Kevin McGrath, St Patrick's Navan; 2 Peter Kilgannon, Ratoath College;

3 Philip Marron, Ratoath College. Teams: 1 St Patrick's Navan, 2 Dunshaughlin Community School, 3 Ratoath College.

Inter: 1 Brian McGrath, St Patrick's Navan; 2 Eoin Smyth, St Patrick's Navan; 3 Martin Molloy, Gormanston. Teams: 1 St Patrick's Navan, 2 Gormanston, 3 O'Carolan Nobber.

Senior: 1 Rob Tully, Gormanston; 2 Andrew Coscoran, St Mary's Drogheda; 3 Jack McGowan, Boyne CS Trim. Teams: 1 Gormanston, 2 St Peter's Dunboyne, 3 St Mary's Drogheda.