| 16.7°C Dublin

Tuite makes name with senior girls 6000m victory

DAVID MULHARE of Portlaoise lived up to the family name when he comfortably won the senior boys 6000m at the annual DCH Schools Invitational Cross-Country held in St Clare's, Glasnevin.

Salesian Celbridge beat St Malachy's in the team race.

In the girls senior race where Laura Tuite of Mercy Beaumont put her stamp on the race from the start. Finishing second was Laura Cullen of Mount Sackville, while Dervla O'Keeffe in third place was leading Santa Sabina to team victory over St Wolstan's.

In the girls inter, with only 400m to go, Alanna Cooley of Dominican College looked to have nailed down her first ever schools victory. That was before Hannah Byrne of Holy Faith Clontarf found an extra gear and chased her down. St Dominic's Cabra packed well to take the team trophy.

A clear winner of the boys inter race was Cathal Doyle of St Aidan's in a race dominated by the Whitehall school. St Aidan's were clear winners of the team trophy with just 16 points

Paddy Maher from Dunshaughlin, added another to his collection when he won the boys junior 3000m in some style, forcing the pace from the start.

Winning the junior girls race was Jodie McCann of Rathdown.

DCH Schools Invitational Cross-Country, St Clare's, Glasnevin

Girls – Minor: 1 Sarah Healy (HC Killiney), 2 Natasha Twomey (Mt Anville), 3 Amy Clarke (Scoil Mhuire Trim). Teams – 1 Scoil Mhuire Trim 36, 2 Newbridge 76, 3 Mt Sackville 79. Junior: 1 Jodie McCann (Rathdown), 2 Aoibheann McGoldrick ( HF Clontarf), 3 Nicola Duffy (St Peter's). Teams – 1 Holy Faith Clontarf) 71, 2 St Dominick's Cabra 81, 3 Wesley College 90. Inter: 1 Hannah Byrne (HF Clontarf), 2 Alanna Cooley (Dominican College), 3 Niamh Staunton (Muckross), Teams – 1 St Dominic's Cabra 36, 2 Colaiste Iosagain 51, 3 Loreto Stephen's Green. Senior: 1 Laura Tuite (Mercy Beaumont), 2 Laura Cullen (Mt Sackville), 3 Devla O'Keeffe (Santa Sabine). Teams – 1 Santa Sabina 27, 2 St Wolstan's 49.

Boys – Minor: 1 Padraig Purcell (Col Eoin), 2 Ruanann O Gibne (Col Eoin), 3 Daniel Lacey (St Aidan's). Teams – 1 St Colman's 36, 2 St Patrick's Navan 55, 3 Colaiste Eoin 72. Junior: 1 Paddy Maher (Dunshaughlin) , 2 Niall Harvey (Pres Carlow), 3 James Maguire (St Benildus). Teams – 1 St Aidan's 45, 2 St Benildus 58, 3 Pres Carlow 79. Inter: 1 Cathal Doyle (St Aidan's), 2 Peter Lynch (St Kieran's), 3 Adam O'Brien (St Aidan's). Teams – 1 St Aidan's 16, 2 Blackrock 77, 3 St Michael's Enniskillen 78. Senior: 1 David Mulhare (Portlaoise CBS), 2 Paddy Robb (St Malaccy's), 3 James Smyth (St Malachy's). Teams – 1 St Kieran's Kilkenny 53, 2 St Aidan's 62, 3 Salesian Celbridge 75.