| 15.7°C Dublin

Titles for Heaslip and Maher


Champion: Shona Heaslip

Champion: Shona Heaslip

Champion: Shona Heaslip

Shona Heaslip of An Riocht and Brian Maher of Kilkenny City Harriers came out on top at the National 10km Championships, held in conjunction with the Great Ireland Run in the Phoenix Park, which had almost 4,000 runners in action.

Heaslip crossed the line in 34:52, with Kerry O'Flaherty of Newcastle AC second in 35:00 and Dundrum South Dublin's Laura Shaughnessy third in 35:15.

Maher, who was also first M40, took the men's title in 30:20, with Raheny's Mick Clohisey second in 30:22, and Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers third in 30:23.

British visitor Oliver Lockley won the Great Ireland Run, just pipping Maher with a time of 30:18.

Age-group winners included Niamh O'Sullivan of An Riocht, coach to Shona Heaslip, who was first W55, Christine Kennedy of Galway City Harriers first W60 and Tomas Fitzpatrick of Tallaght AC first M35.

In the team competition DSD's Shaughnessy, Bethany Murray and Claire McGovern beat the GCH trio of Regina Casey, Sinead Brody and Tara Whyte for the title. Third was Sportsworld's team of Sinead Tangney, Ciara Brady and Maria Jones.

Raheny Shamrock took the men's senior title, led by Mick Clohisey with Daire Bermingham, Kevin Moriarty and Dermot Gorman. North Belfast Harriers finished three minutes back for second, with Rathfarnham WSAF, led by marathon man Sean Hehir, in third.

Dunboyne AC won the W35, while Raheny Shamrock were first W50. Taking the M35 title were Donore Harriers. Inishowen AC proved best of the M50 teams.