| 4.7°C Dublin

Time to sign on line for Race Series

TIME to sign up for the 2013 Dublin Race Series which starts with the Irish Runner 5-Mile on Saturday, June 29.

Other dates are the Fingal 10km on Sunday, July 21, the Frank Duffy 10-mile on Saturday, August 24 and the Dublin Half Marathon on Saturday, September 21. All take place in the Phoenix Park, except the Fingal 10km; venue for that is Swords. Entry costs €23 for the 5-mile and 10km and €25 for the 10-mile and half marathon. See www.dublinmarathon.ie.


Coghlan lights up Dublin by Night

John Coghlan of MSB led home more than 5,600 finishers at the Samsung Dublin by Night 10km. His time of 30 mins 29 secs saw him the clear winner with Gary O'Hanlon of Clonliffe Harriers finishing 30 seconds adrift. Winning the women's race by almost a minute was Aoife Talty of Raheny Shamrock in a time of 34:47. Siobhán O'Doherty of Borrisokane was second and Raheny's Barbara Sanchez third.


Doherty misses Irish 100km record

Dan Doherty finished eighth in the European 100km in Belves, France with a time of 7 hrs 6 mins – a frustrating 54 seconds outside the Irish record. Doherty, who won the Anglo Celtic Plate last month, picked up a number of places in the final 30km on a tricky course with hilly sections. Keith Whyte was forced to drop out at around 80km. Winner of the race in 6:53.14 was Asier Cuevas of Spain.


Matthews claims double at County

Dunshaughlin's Robbie Matthews made it two victories in two days when he won the Royal County 5km in Kells, Co Meath a day after his victory in the RTé BHAA 5-Mile in Dublin. At the RTé race, Matthews' time of 25 mins 6 secs gave him a comfortable lead over Brian G Murphy and Eoghan McGinley. Orla Drumm was first in 28 mins 11 secs, with Ilona McElroy second and Maria Dolan third. A popular winner of the BHAA Person of the Year awards was ex-chairman Charlie Cronin of the ESB. Next BHAA race – coincidentally – is the ESB's Beach 5km on Tuesday (7.30pm).


Red-hot Byrne fires for Malahide win

Davey Byrne and Helen O'Connor led home a record 513 finishers at the Malahide Parkrun 5k. A further 374 finished in Marlay Park, where Paddy O'Leary was the winner in 16 mins 29 seconds. That's almost 900 runners enjoying a free race – and surely a wake-up call for race organisers charging €20 for races over a similar distance.