| 12.6°C Dublin

Taylor battles through after scare

DARTS: World number one Phil Taylor came from a set down to claim a 2-1 win over Peter Wright in the first round of the PartyPoker.com World Darts Grand Prix in Dublin.

Wright took the opening set and then led 1-0 in the second before Taylor hit back to take it 3-1.

Taylor then found top form in the deciding set to close out with a 164 checkout at the New CityWest Convention Centre.

Taylor, who is looking for his 10th title, said: "Peter's set me up for the tournament because he really made me work there.

"He went up on stage and played the game we know he can produce because he is a dangerous player.

"The first round's a nightmare because it's a big leveller and the standard is so high now that anyone is capable of a shock -- but I'm glad he wasn't the victim."

World number four Gary Anderson went down to a shock 2-1 defeat by Richie Burnett.

Anderson eased through the first set 3-0 but he was made to pay after missing two match darts in the second as Burnett, the 1995 BDO world champion, edged it 3-2 to take the match into a decider.

Anderson took a 1-0 lead but Burnett came storming back to hit double 10 for a 3-1 win.

Australian world number five Simon Whitlock beat Terry Jenkins 2-1.

Mark Webster was forced to come from a set down to beat Andy Hamilton 2-1 on his World Grand Prix debut.

Webster eased to 3-0 in the third set, closing out on double 10.

Denis Ovens won his first game in the World Grand Prix since 2003 with a straight-sets defeat of Jamie Caven.

Ovens edged clear in the decider and hit double top for a 2-0 victory.

Mark Hylton came from a set down to upset Mark Walsh 2-1.

Walsh claimed the first leg without reply but Hylton won six of the next seven legs for victory, closing out on double 10.

Alan Tabern also came from behind to claim a 2-1 win over Dave Chisnall.

Chisnall won the opener and then took a 2-1 leg lead in the second set but then missed seven match darts for a straight-sets win.

Again Chisnall had the chance to close out in the decider but missed on double three as Tabern nailed a double 10 for victory.

Paul Nicholson beat Ronnie Baxter 2-0.