| 6.1°C Dublin

Sittuk tops Strawberry Half

KENYAN athlete Freddy Keron Sittuk was first home at the Strawberry Half Marathon in Enniscorthy last Sunday.

Sittuk was wearing the colours of Sliabh Bhui Rovers. He won the race in 69 mins, eight secs, followed closely by Sandis Bralitis of West Waterford. First woman home was Jackie Carthy from Kilmore, whose time of 81 mins, 47 secs put her well clear of Amy Masner of Parnell.

Coghlan best in Blach 5K

John Coghlan (MSB) beat Colin Costello (Star of the Sea) to win the Blanch 5k in 15 mins seven secs. A day earlier, Coghlan just edged out Conor Bradley of City of Derry in the 1500m at the IMC meet in Greystones. Clonliffe's Aaron Hanlon won the 5,000m in 15 mins one sec, with Andrew Connick of Ferrybank second and Roger Barrett from Ballina third. Race of the day was the women's 1500m, with Becky Alexander taking the honours.


Buttner fourth in Algarve

At the European Clubs Championships in the Algarve, Síofra Cléirigh Buttner, running for DSD, knocked two seconds off her personal best to finish fourth in the 1,500m in four mins 22 secs. In the 400m, Sinead Denny recorded a PB of 54.32. Steffi Creaner, running for Birchfield, was fourth in the 200m in 24.77 and ran 12.43 in the 100m. A weakened DSD team, sixth last year, finished eighth.


Clonliffe do Santry double

Clonliffe men and women's track and field teams topped the table in the first round of the National League in Santry. Male winners were Tomas Rauktys in the shot and discus, Ryan Whelan (javelin), Dave Donegan (pole vault), Ryan Cleary (3000m race walk), Ian Guiden (1500m), Dave Fitzmaurice (5,000m), Manuel Calvo-Curry (hammer), and the 4x100m team. The women's team, with 105 points, finished clear of Ferrybank on 103 and Raheny on 98.5. Winners were Ciara McCallion (400m), Eleanor Alexander (1500m) and Denise Byrne (javelin).


Small Irish team Euro masters

A small Irish team of six claimed gold medals at the European Masters' Non-Stadia Championships in Upice, Czech Republic. In the 10km road race, Craughwell's Gerry Ryan was first M45, second overall, while Raheny pair Mick Traynor (second M45) and Damien Martin (sixth M45) made sure of M45 team gold. The same team won the cross-country relays.


Raheny show way in relay

A team from Raheny Shamrock led from the start of the Wicklow Way Relay from Kilmashogue to Shillelagh and ended up comfortable winners ahead of Rathfarnham WSAF in seven hours six minutes. On the same day, Eoin Keith set a brilliant new record of 12 hrs 25 mins seven secs for the entire route. It was the first sub-12-hour time for the 127k course.