| 17°C Dublin

Redemption for five-star Kilian's

ST KILIAN'S DSD made it second time lucky with an emphatic 5-1 victory over CBS New Ross to capture the Leinster Boys Senior B Cup.



The Dublin school followed in the footsteps of last year's winners Kevin's Community College by building on their runners-up finish 12 months earlier with a tournament success.

Kilian's were brushed aside by a similar scoreline against Kevin's in last year's final, but they overcame torrential weather conditions in Arklow last Friday to come out on top by a big margin this time.

New Ross were competing in their school's first ever Leinster final but almost immediately found themselves two goals down. Jessie Kamm ensured Kilian's went in 2-0 up at the break with two clinical finishes into the corner after being played through on goal on both occasions.

Despite a strong start to the second period from New Ross, Kilian's extended their lead on the counter-attack when Nika Arevadze finished.

Niall Wickham pulled one back for the Wexford school after the strong breeze deceived goalkeeper Allesandro Del Gener under a cross.

However, Kilian's regained their three-goal advantage soon after when Brian McMahon's free-kick gave Noah Sandys the easiest of finishes at the back post. Sven Bartels completed the five-star performance in the final minutes.

Kilian's now take on back-to-back Munster champions and the school Kevin's beat in last year's All-Ireland showpiece, Nagle Community College, Mahon in their own national semi-final.

ST KILIAN'S DSD - Allesandro Del Gener; Josh Knipschild, Moritz Welz, Greg Van Cutsem, Noah Sandys, Brian McCann, Sven Bartels (Kristian Leonard 87), Jessie Kamm, Nika Arevadze (Eoin Kavanagh 72), Marcel Kossack (Freddy Carew 68), Niall Carruthers.

CBS NEW ROSS - Daniellus Nieus, Jamie St Ledger, David Furlong, Jonathan Kelly, Ryan Delaney, Niall Wickham, Eric Banville, Sean Duffy, John Halligan, Mikey Cullen, Eoghan Connolly. Subs: Jack Gaynard, Peter Bradley, Adam Lundy, Evan Marshall, Daniel O'Connor, Rory Doherty, Eanna Kennedy.