| 11.1°C Dublin

Peat digs in to land title win for DCU

The recent intervarsity competition in Limerick proved a successful one for the capital with DCU claiming the Women's 'A' title at the expense of UL.

The win was helped in no small part by the most-valuable-player performance of Lindsay Peat, who chipped in with 26 points. It was the perfect end to what has been a frustrating season for the former Dublin GAA All-Ireland winner, particularly after the blow of losing the National Cup Final in early February to UL with her club DCU Mercy.

DCU trailed at the end of the first and second quarters but an inspired second half was enough to claim the crown.

UL enjoyed good displays from the likes of experienced SuperLeague trio, Aoife McDermott, Rachel Clancy and Sinead Deegan, while Christina Newton and Catriona Foley also impressed for the Dubliners.

In the men's 'A' final, UCD suffered a final defeat to UUJ. In a close encounter, UUJ led UCD 36-31 at half-time, before claiming a 67-61 success to ensure their first title since 2009.

In the 'B' section, NUIG proved too strong for TCD in the women's decider, winning 68-35, while Cork IT beat Carlow IT 63-38 in the men's final.

All Star Winners 2012

Women's Winners

(A) - Aoife McDermott - UL

(A) - Mairead McNally - QUB

(A) - Beth Meany - UCD

(A) - Christina Newton - DCU

(A) - Lindsay Peat - DCU

(B) - Leah Cunningham - NUIG

(B) - Rebecca Lyall - CIT

(B) - Sarah McGrath - TCD

(B) - Rebecca O'Keeffe - TCD

(B) - Ailish O'Reilly - NUIG

Men's Winners

(A) - Will Archambault - NUIG

(A) - Paul Cummins - UUJ

(A) - Conor James - UCD

(A) - Dan James - UCD

(A) - Darryl Shazzier - UUJ

(B) - Kevin Donohoe - IT Carlow

(B) - Paul O'Driscoll - CIT

(B) - Ciaran O'Sullivan - CIT

(B) - Samuel Sanni - DKIT

(B) - Karlo Vasquez - IT Carlow