| 5.3°C Dublin

'Nure's net gains

BADMINTON: Dublin's Terenure College U14 Boys Division 1 team were crowned All-Ireland Schools Champions.

In the girls' competition St Mary's, Naas claimed All-Ireland gold in the U14 Division 1 category at yesterday's All-Ireland Schools Badminton Finals held at Gormanston College, Co Meath.

Terenure took on Ulster opponents Bangor Grammar in their opening match. Paul Reynolds, Ireland and Leinster U15 player, got 'Nure off to the perfect start with a 30-20 win against Bangor's Jason Reel.

Sam McKay doubled Terenure's lead with a comprehensive 30-8 win against Ruari Davison in their second singles match of the day.

Bangor's Matthew Agnew and Chris Goldthorpe tied the game by beating Craig Byrne and Mark Eaton in the other singles' clashes.


However, back-to-back wins in the subsequent doubles matches handed the Dublin college a 4-2 victory.

A win against Lisburn's Friends School in their second and final contest would hand 'Nure the title.

Despite a shaky start and being tied at 2-2 after the singles' games, Terenure's victories in the doubles matches crowned them champions.

The St Mary's girls team of Laura Kinnerk, Aine Sheehan, Cora Maloney and Ailbhe O'Sullivan returned to Naas as U14 Division 1 champions.

It was a first national title for the Kildare school, who overcame Ulster's Wallace High School 6-0 and Coláiste Mhuire, Ennis 4-2 to lift the title.

Templeogue College's team of David Dwyer, Sam Herbert, Luke Keating and Rory Clarke took home silver in the Boys U14 Division 2. Templeogue overwhelmed St Nathy's College, Ballaghdeereen 5-1 in their first game.

The Dublin outfit lost their next game before drawing 3-3 in their final against St Anne's of Killaloe to seal the runners-up spot. Dwyer's play was exceptional throughout for Templeogue; the Terenure Junior Badminton club player finished the tournament with an unbeaten record.

Terenure, with a strong team performance from Jack Lawler, James Cannon, Paraic Rowan, Alex Buckley and David Gavin, finished as runners-up in the U19 Division 2 group.

Elsewhere, St Colmcille's, Knocklyon, captured more silverware with Mark White, Ian Patterson, Darren Leonard and David Neylon winning silver in the Boys' U19 Division 1.