| 5.5°C Dublin

Moore called in to save the day for St Andrew's in final

St Andrew's 2

(S Brooks, S Campbell)

Rathdown 2

(K Ray, A Barnwell)

*St Andrew's win 3-2 on penalties

SPECIALIST penalty shoot-out goalkeeper Phoebe Moore showed her value as she got a vital touch to deny Stephanie Burns, handing St Andrew's their first Leinster schoolgirls Senior Cup title since 2010.

Moore came off the bench a minute before the end of extra-time for Aoife Daly and while her involvement was short, it proved critical as she kept out three St Gerard's efforts to see her side win out 3-2 at Grange Road.

It was a repeat of the Senior Premier League final but bore few of the hallmarks of that decider which ended 3-0 in Andrew's favour. Indeed, the sides know each other particularly well.

Rebecca Andrews and Rachel O'Brien are first cousins while four players – two from each side – were part of the Glenageary Killiney National School sixth class team that won their league in 2008.

In front of a large and loud crowd, Karla Ray got Rathdown off to a great start as Megan MacQuillan picked out the striker unmarked just left of the penalty spot and she swept home in the seventh minute.

Megan Carroll was Andrew's key player during this phase, using her flat-bat to break up numerous Rathdown tackles and limit the chances. It allowed the Booterstown school to build a base from which to get back into the game and they created three or four good openings before the break.

Their momentum, though, was slowed by the half-time interval and Rathdown came out strong. Down the right wing, Amber Barnwell picked out a gap at the right post for a calm finish and 2-0.

Andrew's replied quickly, getting level with 21 minutes left when she pounced on Tan's save. It popped up waist-high and the winger duly volleyed home. From there, her side camped on the Rathdown circle.

But Andrew's got their equaliser from their fifth penalty corner as Sally Campbell's hit went to the left post.

Extra-time found no winner, leading to a penalty shoot-out in which Andrew's prevailed.

St Andrew's: A Daly, M Carroll, C Hennessy, C Spain, D Quinn, R O'Brien, S Campbell, S McCready, T Temperley, E Beirne, S Brooks.

Subs: A Sarratt, C Larmour, R Merrey, K Bernsden, P Moore.

Rathdown: T Tan, K Ray, R Andrews, S Burns, M MacQuillan, M Bodimeade, A Barnwell, L O'Leary, S Hyland, R Bourke, S Hickey.

Subs: A Horgan, L Balfe, C Sexton, G Burns, M Meyer, H Hickey, M Doyle, S Evans.