| 13.6°C Dublin

McCarthy is two good at Irishtown

MARYFIELD'S Sarah McCarthy was a double winner at the Aviva East Leinster Schools Track and Field Championships held over two days in sunny Irishtown last week.

On the opening day of competition, McCarthy made only one attempt at the senior long jump, but at 5.78m, it was enough to win the competition by a big margin. A day later, she added the 200m to her collection and then ran the second leg for the victorious Maryfield relay team.

Siofra Cleirigh Buttner was another double winner, first winning the 800m and a day later, comfortably beating her Coláiste íosagáin team-mate Sarah Ní Maolmhuire to win the 1500m.

Molly Scott of Coláiste Chonglais was another athlete to impress. After nailing down the junior girls' 100m title on the first day of competition, she then won the 80m hurdles in some style, beating Ella Schmidt of High School. Schmidt was having a busy day and also finished third in the junior long jump behind Sabine Haler and Tara Jenkins, both Sion Hill.

One of the best races of the day came in the inter girls' 1500m, where Hope Saunders of Mount Temple picked the perfect moment to out-kick Isabelle Odlum of Rathdown for victory. Winning the race for third place was Regan McGlynn of Loreto Stephen's Green. Winning the senior 400m in style was Jade Leahy of Muckross.

In the minor 1100m, Jodie McCann of Rathdown came home first, while also in this age group, a number of versatile young athletes were in action. Niamh Gowing of Mount Anville won the 75m hurdles, beating Ali Donnelly of St Andrew's, who had won the long jump, while taking the high jump title was Katie McGee of Teresians – she finished third in the 80m a day earlier. Winning the javelin was Caoimhe Shanley Mee of High School with a last round throw of 22.30m – a personal best.

In the boys competition, CBC Monkstown won all three pole vault titles. Henry Spellman won the junior title, Patrick Rodgers was best at inter level, while Sean Smith took senior gold.

Winning the senior 800m was Brian Conway of St Benildus, who reeled in early leader Rick Nally of Wesley, with Cian Mulcahy of Gonzaga finishing third. Andrew Cummins from Oatlands won the inter 800m, getting the better of Aengus Meldon from Blackorkc.

Lorcan Murphy of Pres Bray made it a sprint double when he added the senior 200m title to the 100m he had won a day earlier, while Kevin Woods of CUS won the inter title, having taken 400m gold the previous day. A third sprint double came in the junior ranks when 100m champion Niall Prior of Coláiste Eoin added the 200m title to his collection.

Both senior and inter 100m relays produced identical results, with Blackrock, CBC Monkstown and Clonkeen the top three in both races.

pAt the opening day of the South Leinster Schools Championships, Siobhra O'Flaherty of St Leo's Carlow was an impressive winner of the junior 1500m, while Nessa Cooper Millett from Kilkenny College won the senior 400m hurdles.