| 7.4°C Dublin

Larkin storm to Cup double

LARKIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE topped the winners podium to retain the Hanningan Cup and the Robinson Cup for the Best All-Round Girls and Boys School at last Friday's CDVEC SCC Track and Field Championships at Morton Stadium, Santry.

Larkin dominated the overall schools' silverware winning the Minor Girls and Boys, Junior Girls and Intermediate Girls and Boys Shields with Coláiste Dhúlaigh denying Larkin a clean sweep by claiming the Junior Boys Shield.

In the individual performances of the day, Coláiste Dhúlaigh's Michael Tyrrell's fantastic win in the Junior 1500 metres final was rewarded with the Athlete Of The Meet accolade.


Seán Lawlor (right) of Kylemore College and Larkin's Shane Hamilton won back-to-back titles in the Junior and Intermediate 100 metre and 400 metre finals respectively.

Lawlor then captained the Kylemore Junior Boys relay team that won the Bracken Sports and Cultural Cup. Hamilton, alongside Jamal Traore, Peter Hopkins and Darren Towell, also won the Intermediate Boys Relay Rank Xerox Cup.

Lauren Keenan of Cabra Community College was awarded the girls Athlete Of The Meet.

Larkin's Calum McGovern won the minor 100 metres, the long jump and also claimed the O'Dwyer Cup with the minor relay team.

Dhúlaigh's Leon Bollard took gold in the minor 400 metres final. Stephen Kerr of Plunket College won the minor high jump title. Jordan Behan excelled to win both the junior shot putt and javelin for Dhúlaigh.

Lee Carrie (long jump) and Ryan McDonnell (high jump) took junior gold for Kylemore College. In the girls events, Larkin's Lauren Fitzgerald (minor) and Jennifer Corrigan (junior) won the 800 metres finals.

Presentation Terenure's Mia Harris led the minor relay team to success in the O'Dea Cup. Other athletes to taste success included Larkin's Roslyn Murphy, Jade Smith, Tiffany Heary and Katie Gaffney.

Kylemore's Victoria Nkamu, Alex Doyle, Kate Moss and their junior relay winning team of Shanice Hennessy, Emma Norton and twin sisters Katie and Hannah Kavanagh.

Marino College's Inga Streczewska and Demi Cunningham, Margaret Aylward's Richelle Carroll, Sarah Louise Norton, Leah Kearney, Ringsend's Nicole Collopy and Coláiste Eoin's Jacek Galka.