| 14.8°C Dublin

King and Dillon see off indoor challenge at Riverview

TOP seeds Barry King and Rachael Dillon won the men and women's titles at the Babolat National Indoor Tennis Championships held at David Lloyd Riverview in Clonskeagh.

King beat second seed Lazare Kukhalashvili 6-4, 6-4 in the men's decider after a relatively untroubled passage to the final in Dublin.

In the semi-final, he took three sets to beat Conor Taylor, who had progressed after Michael Hayes retired in the second set of their quarter-final match.

Kukhalashvili beat James Cluskey in his semi-final, with the match going to three sets after Cluskey won the second in a tie-break. Cluskey beat Ciaran Fitzgerald in the quarter-finals.

In the women's final, Dillon dismissed Amy Bowtell 6-2, 6-4. After a bye into the second round, Dillon beat first Sinead Lohan and then Becky O'Hanlon.

In the semi-finals, she dropped the opener but went on to beat Lynsey McCullough in three sets. On the other side of the draw, Bowtell took three sets to beat both Jenny Claffey and Niamh Coveney.

Dillon and Bowtell had paired up for the women's doubles and victory over Jenny Claffey and Lynsey McCullough gave Dillon her second title of the week.

In the men's doubles, King teamed up with Conor Taylor, but lost to Sam Barry and Ciaran Fitzgerald in a hard-fought final that went to three marathon sets.


In the semi-finals, King and Taylor beat Kukhalashvili and Niall Fitzgerald, while Barry and Ciarán Fitzgerald eliminated James Cluskey and Eoin Heavey.

At underage level, Sinead Lohan faced Grainne O'Neill in the girls' U18 final after O'Neill had ousted the fancied Hannahmay Morrissey in the semi-finals and Lohan beat Emily Madill. In the final, Lohan won in straight sets.

No surprises in the boys' U18 category with Fergus O'Connell beating Ross Hurley in the decider.

At U16 level, Jane Fennelly beat Siobhan Ryan-Bovey to win the girl's title.

Odhran O'Sullivan Hamill did well to beat second seed Robert Dudley in the boys' semi-finals, before going out to top seed Harry Walshe in the final.

Winners of the U14 titles were Karola Bejenaru who beat Nicola Drummy in the girls' final, and Eoin McGovern who had a tough battle before beating Coilin MacNamara.