| 7°C Dublin

Kevin's Boys simply the best

ST KEVIN'S BOYS ....................3

EDENDERRY TOWN ..................0

A BIG day for Edenderry. They didn't lack support, or heart.

But they were up against a class side. Anytime Edenderry had possession, they were surrounded by Santry security.

The Dubliners put so much pressure on the ball, and they used it so well themselves. 'Keep it simple' was the constant call from the bench.

They dominated the 70 minutes, displaying culture and conviction. And they would have had more goals in the kitty only for the presence of the Offaly goalkeeper, Aaron O'Neill, who foiled Thomas Byrne on two occastions and also stopped a Sean McDonald effort.


Kevin's took the lead in the 11th minute at the carpark end. Shane Stokes was dazzling in his green boots and his cross from the left brought a firm header from Aaron Townley that found the back of the net.

The second goal arrived on the blow of the break when Michael Cregan pounced on a rebound to nudge the ball in from close range.

Two minutes into the second half came the third when Tristan Moran arrowed over a deep centre from the right that carried all the way into the far corner.


The Edenderry dugout kept offering encouragement. The team kept responding. Jack Cully was inches wide of the Kevin's goal and then he popped a free-kick onto the bar.

The Town's folk were on their feet at the end – applauding the noble efforts of their local heroes and the quality of the Super Saints.

ST KEVIN'S BOYS: Daniel Brennan; Tristan Moran, Jamie Reynolds, Paul Cleary, Dara O'Shea, Cian McGarry, Thomas Byrne, Aaron Townley, Michael Cregan, Evan Pierce, Shane Stokes, Cameron McCormack, Luke Heeney, Jack Barrett, Sean McDonald, Ryan Graydon.

EDENDERRY TOWN: Aaron O'Neill; Eoghan McMonagle, David Kelly, Eoin Dunne, Conor Bradley, Jack Cully, Anthony Kilmurray, Karl Malone, Cian Farrell, Eoghan Maguire, Darren Quinn, Olly Odem, Brian Clarke, Ahmed Goloba, Gavin Quinn, Luke Hogan.

Referee: Derek Bell.

Assistants: John Delaney, Tom Shannon.

Fourth Official: Chris O'Grady.