| 10.4°C Dublin

Jones takes 'chair race

FIRST wheelchair finisher in the Dublin Marathon was Luke Jones from Wales in a respectable 2.03.30.

Biggest cheers went to the great Jerry Forde from Blarney Iniscarra, probably the only wheelchair athlete in the world to have completed more than a hundred marathons. Gerry, now in the over 60 age group, finished in 3:38.34.

McKinney lifts 45+ title

In the veteran classes, Pauric McKinney from Donegal, running with Inishowen after many years with Letterkenny, won the over 45 title for a third time when he finished in 2:33.18. McKinney first ran Dublin Marathon in 2000 when he finished as second Irish runner -- a feat repeated six more times, most recently in 2009. Another notable performance came from SBR's Tommy McElwaine, who has long had the knack of picking the women's winner. This time he finished in 2:36.05 -- just behind Maria McCambridge.

Mary maintains record

Some 107 men and women made up this year's Wicklow Hospice 100 team in the Dublin Marathon, including their leader Bill Porter, who finished in 3:18.40. Also running for Wicklow Hospice -- an entirely voluntary charity -- was Mary Nolan Hickey from Arklow -- the only women to have run all Dublin Marathons to date. Mary's aim was to break four hours and she did it in style as she finished third over 60 in 3:53.13.

Winter League to start

Dunboyne hosts the opening round of this year's Meet and Train Women's Winter League next Sunday November 4 (11am). This league, dating back to the early days of the women's mini marathon, was established to give novice runners the incentive to keep training over the winter months. Four races take place between now and February. Other host clubs are Fingallians, Sportsworld and Lucan. A great way to stay fit in winter with members of keep fit groups particularly welcome.

Cragg the best of Irish

Alistair Cragg was best of the Irish/Marathon Mission team at the Great South Run 10-Mile, finishing in 48 mins 25 secs. Tallaght's Sean Connolly and Paddy Hamilton of Annadale both finished in 49:35, while Joe McAllister of St Malacahy's ran 50.15.