| 12.4°C Dublin

Irish ace Niland chasing ranking points with extended stay in France

IRISH No1 Conor Niland is still tirelessly chasing ranking points, and last week he made the quarter-finals of the Open de Rennes in France, where he lost to Spanish player Roberto Bautista-Agut 3-6 6-1 7-5. He remains in France this week for the Tour Open d'Orleans.

Sam Barry is playing at a Futures tournament in Turkey, while John Morrissey and James Cluskey are both in Glasgow at the British Futures.

Locally, Carrickmines recorded a famous victory over Donnybrook to win women's over-35 Class 1 in the Dublin Lawn Tennis Council Senior League.

For Donnybrook, world master's doubles champion Lesley O'Haloran and Caitriona Hannigan had a comfortable win over Denise Lyons and Laura McCarthy. Carrickmines then dug deep. Miriam O'Meara and Fionnula Halpin lost their opening set against Catherine Holohan and Joanne Wylde but evened the match when they won the second 6-2.

That forced a tense tie- breaker, with the Carrickmines pair just edging it 7/6. Wendy Hedderman and Eavan Diamond copper-fastened the team victory when they beat Anita O'Neill and Rocky O'Halloran 6-2, 7-5. Carrickmines did well in the women's league, also winning the W35 Class 5 when they beat Elm Park and reaching the W45 Class 1 losing to Templeogue.

In the men's over-35 Class 1 decider, Templeogue beat Carrickmines 2-0. Victories for Justin Smyth and Niall Murphy over Maurice Kenny and Simon Harkin, and for Joe Egan and Tom Rossiter over Richard Birchall and John Lynch, were enough to give them the title. Paul Pounch and Ari Knox then didn't have to finish a close match against Michael Nugent and John Lynch.

No single club dominated the men's finals. Glenalbyn beat Sutton in M35 Class 2, and David Lloyd won Class 3. In the M45 Class 1 final, Sandycove got the better of Fitzwilliam, while in M55 Class 1, Fitzwilliam beat Templeogue.

Women -- W35: Class 1 -- Carrickmines 2, Donnybrook 1. Cl 2 -- Greystones 2, Clontarf 1; Cl 3 -- Brookfield 2, Sutton 0; Cl 4 -- Templeogue 2, Sutton 1; Cl 5 Carrickmines 2, Elm Park 1. W45: Cl 1 -- Templeogue 2, Carrickmines 0.

Men -- M35: Class 1 -- Templeogue 2, Malahide 0; Cl 2 -- Glenalbyn 2, Sutton 1; Cl 3 -- David Lloyd 2, Portmarnocok 1; Cl 4 -- Glasnevin 2, Templeogue 0. M45: Cl 1 Sandycove 2, Fitzwilliam 0; Cl 2 -- LCC 2, Clontarf 2. M55: Cl 1 -- Fitzwilliam 3, Templeogue 0; Cl 2 -- Malahide 2, Sutton 1.


Oct 31 -- Nov 7: EBS National Veteran's Championships, Lansdowne TC, Dublin.