| 12.1°C Dublin

Frustrated Horgan makes his point as Irish U18s fight back

IRELAND Under-18 Boys schools international manager Ollie Horgan admits his side's late comeback against Wales was impressive but is disappointed they had to grab a point in the first place.

Despite falling behind to two goals within a minute on the hour mark in Carmarthen last Friday, two strikes in the final 12 minutes from Brian Lenihan and Joe O'Brien earned the visitors a last-ditch draw.

The result means Horgan's side must now rely on Northern Ireland taking points from Wales in Dungannon tomorrow night before Ireland conclude their campaign in England next week.

If Horgan's side go into next Thursday's clash with England in Brighton still in the hunt because of a Welsh slip-up, then they can win the title with victory.

It would be a different story if O'Brien and Fearghal McMahon had taken either of their late chances in stoppage time to grab Ireland the unlikeliest of wins in Wales last week.

It was not to be, however, and Horgan admits his side cannot blame anybody for the slip-up, but at the same time deserve credit for their comeback.

"We would be hoping that Wales drop some points so that we still have something to play for when we kick-off in Brighton next week," said the Ireland boss.

"I have to hand it to the lads, it was a really, really impressive performance from them to come back and get a draw last week.

"But in saying that, we are disappointed that we put ourselves in a position where we had to do it."

IRELAND: Evan Comerford (CBS High School, Clonmel), Adam O'Connor (Drimnagh Castle), Anthony O'Donnell (Carrigaline Community School), Pierce Sweeney (Coláiste Ráithín, Bray), Ryan Matthews (Clonkeen College, Blackrock), Paul Moffat (Clonkeen College, Blackrock), Colm Horgan (Coláiste éinde, Galway), Brian Lenihan (Presentation Brothers College, Cork), Barry Sheedy (Coláiste Iósaef, Kilmallock), Sean Maguire (CBS Kilkenny), Daniel Morrissey (Midleton CBS), Jason Abbott (Coláiste Mhuire, Cobh), Jack Doherty (Comeragh College), Rob Lehane(Douglas Community School), Timmy Molloy (Coláiste Iognáid, Galway), Niall Corbett (Clonaslee Vocational School, Laois), Fearghal McMahon (St Macartan's College, Monaghan), Joe O'Brien (Yeats College, Galway).