| 16.7°C Dublin

Four in a row for Arklow

FOR the fourth year in a row, Arklow Town claimed the Wicklow League/South Dublin U-17 Development League silverware.

But it wasn't in the manner in which they wanted to lift the trophy - the last to be won in the Garden County for the 2012/13 season.

That's after the Black and Whites were awarded a walk-over and three points from their proposed clash with Rathgar FC A which was scheduled for last Tuesday (May 28) at Bridgewater Centre Park.

The result took them past runners-up Beechwood FC A with two games to spare.

Amazingly, the team had no less than 26 different players who featured on the score sheet this season.

Astonishingly, just two of those players managed to break into double figures as Michael Kennedy scored 29 times while Joseph Ledwith netted on 25 occasions.

The 'Town had a 100% record at Bridgewater Centre Park, taking maximum points from their nine competitive home games.

They also had the distinction of beating every one of the 16 other competing teams at least once during the campaign.

With two matches outstanding (both away to Dalkey United and Rathgar FC B), the Black and Whites record is played 30; won 28 (including eight walk-overs), drew one and lost once.

In total, the Black and Whites scored 109 goals, conceded just 19 and kept 10 clean sheets.

The full Arklow Town panel consists of: Darren Dempsey, Patrick Kibler, Michael Kennedy, Joseph Ledwith, James Colvin, Leslie Sharpe, Jack Watson, Thomas Farrell, Darryl Sullivan, Kyle Hilliard, Ciaran O'Reilly, Peter Sherwood, Gareth Kenny, Liam Scales, Darragh Kavanagh, Paul Ryan, Aaron Healy, Adrian Earls, Dean Kelly, Bernard Fox, Mark Keenan, Kyle Jordan, David Boddy, Nathan Fagan, William Horsman, Darren Furlong, Neil O'Reilly, Stewart Mills, Jake Byrne, Liam Scales, Cullan Walsh, Morgan Harris, Cal Kelly and Jack Somers.

The team are managed by: Darragh Murray, Ciaran Kavanagh, David Boddy and Brian Byrne.

*The WDL confirmed that with the top two places sorted, the remaining games in the U17 Development League will now not be played.