| 9°C Dublin

Enniscorthy 10k the ideal way to spend St Valentine's Day if you love running

HOT and cold drinks, sandwiches and cakes are just some of the goodies on offer to all finishers of Sunday's fifth My Sport Enniscorthy 10k (2.0) -- the perfect way to celebrate Valentine's Day! There's also a T-shirt for the first 250 to register, plus an array of prizes.

For the elite, €500 is on offer to the first man to break Sandis Bralitis's course record of 30:32. This, together with the €150 winner's prize, could make it a nice payday for just half an hour's work.

With a downhill final mile, the course is a fast one, taking in a loop of Vinegar Hill from the start near the Shamrocks GAA club. Walkers are welcome and will start at 1.30pm. Entry fee is €15 with late entry on the day until 1.0. Online entry at www.runireland.com.

Sportsworld's Madigan makes it four from four

EDEL MADIGAN of Sportsworld made it four from four when she won the final round of the Women's Meet and Train League at Swords. A fighting second was Donore's Aoife Rickard, up a place from last time, while third was Susan McDonnell of Sportsworld. Finishing with two in the top 10 was Tallaght -- Sharon Tighe was seventh and Paula Murray 10th. Overall, Sportsworld B are the top team overall, followed by Tallaght A and Donore A. Prizegiving and fun 4x400 relay will take place at Irishtown on February 21 (11am).

Rathfarnham athletes launch runners' shop

Here's a shameless plug: Rathfarnham WSAF athletes Eoin Flynn and Mark Ryan have recently launched a new online running shop at www.sub4.ie. The site went live a fortnight ago with bargain prices on running shoes, gear, nutrition products, running watches, injury supports, and other running-related products. Why not pay it a visit?

Ryan romps home to take Mayo Road League

Galway's ageless Gerry Ryan was a clear winner of the Westport 5k, originally scheduled for last December and the final race in the 2009 Vodafone C&C Cellular Mayo AC Road League. Ryan also finished top of the league ahead of Robert Malseed with five wins from six starts. Second in the race was John Byrne, with Garrett Coughlan of Crusaders third. In fourth place, Ballina's Daniel Murray was first junior and took the most improved award for the league. Catherine Conway was first woman with a personal-best time of 17.38 and also took the league title by a single point from 2008 champion Mary Gleeson.

Merritt winner of delayed Kostal Mallow race

After a month's delay, the Kostal Mallow 10-Mile race finally took place last Sunday with Colin Merritt of Carrignavar winning in 53.17. Limerick's Debela Lebeka was second in 53.29 and Brian Murphy of Carrick-on-Suir third. Raheny's Lorraine Manning was first woman with a time of 60.53. For second place, Tracey Roche of Doneen had a great battle with the veteran Mary Sweeney from St Finbarr's.

Free Great Ireland entry for proven performers

Psst! Want a free entry to the Great Ireland 10k on April 18 in the Phoenix Park? All you have to do is prove that you've run a 10k in under 31 minutes if you're a man or 36 minutes if you're a woman. A sub-2:24 or 2:45 marathon will also do -- or a top-20 place at the National Cross-Country Championships. If you're represented Ireland at junior under-23 or senior level, you'll also be offered a free place. A special prize fund for Irish athletes starts at €500 for the winning man and woman. Normal entry fee for the race is €32.