| 8.3°C Dublin

eleson thorn in naas' side

Eleson United...................2

Naas United FC..................2

Current CR Wynne Feeds Senior League Champions Naas United FC lost valuable ground on frontrunners Castle Villa and Woodstock Celts when they could only manage a draw away to newly promoted Eleson United last Sunday.

The visitors were looking to bounce back from last week's 3-1 defeat at the hands of near rivals Woodstock Celts and they looked to have made the perfect start.

The game was only a minute old when they took the lead. Jamie Lambe saw his shot parried by Jim Dunne in the Eleson goal and Mark Saunders was on hand to finish the rebound putting them 1-0 up.

However their celebrations didn't last long as Eleson equalised in a move involving Ciaran and Joe Bowers.

The latter crossed into the area and some hesitant defending by Paddy Walshe and Jimmy McGrath allowed Kevin Harris to fire home from close range, giving Aaron Smith no chance, to restore parity after two minutes.

Visiting 'keeper Aaron Smith was forced into action soon after when he saved well from a Ciaran Bowers snap shot from 20 yards.

Naas United restored their slender lead after 16 minutes when a good through ball from centre-half Joe Ryan set Jamie Lambe clear, he rounded Murt Myles and made no mistake to finish calmly past the onrushing Dunne from 12 yards out.

The visitors were looking dangerous going forward but were struggling to defend as Ciaran and Joe Bowers continued to cause problems for the overstretched defence.

It could have been 3-1 to the away side on 27 minutes when a Mark Saunders cross was headed wide by the unfortunate Jamie Lambe.

The visitors were made pay for a sloppy piece of defending that allowed Ciaran Bowers run from deep, unchallenged, to find Harris at the edge of the box and he volleyed low and hard to Smith's right to equalise for Eleson.

Eleson United: Jim Dunne, Sean Leeson, Joe Kenny, Murt Myles, Daniel Brady, Kevin Harris, Shane Buckley, Vincent Swords, Nathan Gahan, Joe Bowers, Ciaran Bowers, Mark Curran, Dean Bowers, Vinny Byrne, Sean Greville, PauL Swords.

Naas United FC: Aaron Smith, Jimmy McGrath, Paddy Walshe, EoinGiblin, Joe Ryan, Andrew Sheridan, Jamie Curran, Vernon Nolan, Vinny O'Connor, Mark Saunders, Jamie Lambe, James Murphy, Jamie Rogers, Aaron Akanji, Brian Cooper, Joe Moore.

Referee: Peter Donnelly.